The Winter Solstice

14 Dec

Check out this post written by Lori last December.  This year’s winter solstice is next Thursday, December 22!

The Winter Solstice, darkest day of the year, occurred Tuesday.  It was especially significant this year, because at the same time, there was a full moon accompanied by a lunar eclipse.  For centuries, people have held celebrations on the Winter Solstice.  They would bring all of their animals in (for slaughter), as there would be little food available for the animals during the harsh winter months.  They would celebrate and feast.  This has been a time of abundance and celebration for our ancestors.  Celestially, it is viewed as a powerful event.

A friend of mine and I came up with the idea to have a group meditation on this night.  My friend is more experienced in meditation.  I only recently began learning how to do it on my own.  The extent to my “group” meditation experience has been in chanting “Om” with fellow yogis during my weekly yoga practice!  So, I was really looking forward to it.

I read in Yoga Journal that more and more people are hosting Winter Solstice parties.  Some people even incorporate yoga practice into their event.  I went shopping for food and beverages, and planned where the ceremony should occur in my house.  I smudged the room to purify it and make it clear.  I lit candles.

A couple hours before the event, I received a call from my friend, whose daughter was really sick, saying she was unable to come.  I was saddened and started to cry.  I have three children myself, and my heart ached for her, her daughter, and for the thought that the meditation may not occur.  After I hung up the phone, I sat with my thoughts for a moment.

I felt compelled to go on, without my friend.  I was certainly nervous, but at the same time, knew from within, that I would not be alone, and I would receive all the Guidance I needed.

I called my mom, who is frequently my “Go-To Gal.”  She said when I had called her the previous day and said, “You’ll never guess who just called me,” she immediately thought it was about the meditation being cancelled.  Instead, that call was about something entirely different, but it compelled her to do some research.  She found a beautiful guided meditation online, which she shared with me.  I read it and immediately thought it was perfect for our circle.

Seven of us sat in a circle on the floor.  I smudged every one individually.  Then, we proceeded with the guided meditation.  Afterwards, I spoke from the heart (undoubtedly Guided) and we lit candles to diminish the darkness both within ourselves and throughout the Earth/Universe, and let our lights shine.  After the ceremony, we talked.  And talked.  It was amazing.  Deep.  Moving.  Satisfying.  The perfect way to begin a new season.

I learned some things about myself in the process.  I am capable of trusting myself.  I am not alone.  Ever.  When I need help, all I have to do is ask.

I have great family and friends.  I hope to make this a tradition for years to come.

For more information about Yoga Journal, see http://www.yogajournal.com/.

For more information about the guided meditation we used, go to http://www.matrifocus.com/SAM03/meditation.htm.

One Response to “The Winter Solstice”

  1. Lisa Martin December 28, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    It was such a moving experience–I felt priviledged to take part. I kept the “warmth” of the darkest night of the year with me through the Christmas celebrations, too.

Leave a Reply

