52 FEATS – NUMBER 49 (Making a Commitment)

5 Dec

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

Well last week I did a terrible job of keeping my trap shut.  Here’s a great example: As we were leaving for a playdate, my daughter put on a dress-up gown she had borrowed from a friend, only to find a huge rip across the front.  I went on this ridiculously long rant about being responsible for things we borrow, told her she owed her friend an apology, and said she would have to help pay to replace the dress.  We get to our playdate, she runs up to her friend and says she’s sorry for the dress, and her friend says nonchalantly, “Oh, my brother did that.”

Oops.

I think I’m going to make a t-shirt with a Nike-style swoosh across the front that says, “Just shut it.”

So obviously I need to keep working on not flapping my gums so much.  I found that goes awfully well with the previous Feat of smiling – I can paste a smile on my face, which instantly shuts me up and actually does sort of melt away any bad feelings.

On to this week – making a commitment.  Obviously I’m not a total commitment phobe – I mean, I did get married and have kids.  But there are a couple of small, important things that I’ve been letting slide lately.  The MOST important of those would be my daughter’s daily reading lessons.  Because they’re self-paced and not on any particular schedule, they keep getting pushed to the bottom of the list.  Sadly, most days we end up not even having time to do them at all.  Boo on myself.

I feel SO strongly about doing these lessons right now (and doing them the right way), that I have to make them more of a priority.  Twice a week just won’t cut it.  I was very diligent about doing these with my son, and I owe my daughter the same commitment!

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 49 (Making a Commitment)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 52 FEATS – NUMBER 50 (Making Friends) « More than Mothers - December 13, 2011

    […] We Love… « 52 FEATS – NUMBER 49 (Making a Commitment) […]

Leave a Reply

