52 FEATS – NUMBER 47 (Zooming Out)

22 Nov

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

OK, I realize that the phrase “Zooming Out” may seem a little bit odd.  Please bear with me while I try to explain.

I am a very task-oriented person.  Not goal-oriented, necessarily, but task-oriented –  living and dying by my calendar and to-do lists.  I am constantly writing new things on my list, and checking them off is one of my greatest personal thrills (sad, I know).

But the problem I’ve noticed recently is that I’m totally bogged down by the minutiae.  I’ve become fixated on every little thing that needs to be done, repaired, or cleaned.  I’m in a rut.

For example, I am so focused on the crumbs under my kitchen table that I don’t even notice the table itself, a treasured heirloom from my deceased grandparents.  I’m so worried about decorating for the holidays that I overlook the fact that I already have a beautiful, warm home.

It’s like when I’m driving – I’m constantly staring at the road right in front of me, lost in thought about all the things I need to do that day, never bothering to look around a bit.  Yesterday I decided to “zoom out,” and noted with surprise that we do in fact have some lovely fall colors right here in north Texas!

I suppose it’s like the saying about not seeing the forest for the trees.  I’m so busy with the endless small details of life that not only am I having trouble enjoying it, I’m having trouble even seeing it for what it is.  Time to change my perspective and spend some time admiring the big picture!

Leave a Reply

