52 FEATS – NUMBER 46 (Smiling)

15 Nov

I tend to be a moody, morose, and melancholy person.  I’m not trying to spread gloom and doom…that’s just what seems to take over sometimes.  It’s in my head and inadvertently comes out.  And yet, I absolutely adore people who seem genuinely cheerful.  I feel like that could never be me, but lately, I’m knocking the same phrase around in my head, over and over:

Fake it ’til you make it.

What if I just pretend to be chipper?  What if I put on a smile and see if my mood follows?

I tend to have a grumpy puss, and I know that when I’m stressed, my face is particularly expressive.  (Not in a good way.)  I also firmly believe that attitudes, good or bad, are contagious.  I go through that experience every time my husband comes home from a terrible day at work – within minutes, me and the kids are cranky, too.  He passes the negativity on to us, while still hanging on to it himself.  What a neat trick.

As a way to banish the blues, this week I’m going to work on simply smiling.  I may end up looking like Sookie Stackhouse (shout out to True Blood!) with a dimwitted grin stuck to my goofy face, but at least that might be less toxic than letting my stress seep out everywhere.  I’m going to see if plastering that smile on the outside will help to improve my mood on the inside.

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 46 (Smiling)”

  1. Anne November 16, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    I like it! Since about January I have been trying to think of myself as the Goddess of my family… and emit Goddessness. Like, calm, peaceful, loving, kind and gentle, smiling serenely, strong, brave, confident, warm and bosomy. Quite the opposite of all my natural inclinations, but exactly how I want my children and husband to describe me after I die. (How’s that for morose?) Problem is, I keep forgetting. But when I remember, and I let it flow over me and through me and it feels great. From one faker to another.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

