52 FEATS – NUMBER 45 (Helping Others)

8 Nov

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

This week I have the tremendous pleasure of delivering hundreds of food items to two local food pantries.  Each year, my husband and I do a food drive at Halloween, and we split the bounty between these two places that help hungry people in our community.  I do this because hunger is an important issue to me, and I want to help alleviate it in any way I can.

When I’m organizing the donations, it’s not uncommon to see tears in my eyes.  No, it’s not from the backbreaking physical work of crouching down over all those cans; it’s because every now and then I lift up a food item and think about who the recipient will be.  I imagine the real person who will eat this food, and wonder about who they are and what circumstances have led to them being hungry.  I’m humbled beyond words to think that I will be helping them.

I’ve long wanted to add volunteer work into my schedule (there’s always time), but I’ve been held back simply because I can’t decide which organization to help.  Isn’t that ridiculous?!  I’m wasting time simply because I can’t make up my mind.  Meals on Wheels?  Women’s shelter?  Hospice?  Animal shelter?  They all have such a need, I wish I be everywhere at once.

But like I said, this indecision is causing me to waste time that I could be helping someone – anyone.  So this week, in addition to delivering all that food, I’m going to decide on how I want to give my time helping others.  Maybe I’ll just flip a coin.  It really doesn’t matter – I just need to get out there and do it!

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 45 (Helping Others)”

  1. Martha Mattison November 8, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    You are a prize!

Leave a Reply

