52 FEATS – NUMBER 43 (Driving)

25 Oct

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

I may not have a ridiculously long commute to work (thank goodness), but I’m still in my car a lot.  A LOT.  Between school drop-off and pick-up, volunteering, dance classes, piano lessons, and all the millions of errands I have to do every day, I log in tons of car time.  (Which explains why my mini-van usually looks like a pack of wild dogs lives in it.)

Lately I’ve gotten worried that I’m just doing too much multi-tasking while I drive.  And I am totally going to throw my kids under the bus (so to speak) and blame them for it.  They’re arguing with each other, they want me to hand them a water bottle, then they want me to take back the water bottle, they need to give me a snotty tissue, they want me to turn on a particular song, they’ve dropped a toy and they need it desperately or life just won’t be the same, etc.  OK, I do take some of the blame, because I go along with all that crap.  I’m shuffling the water bottles back and forth, picking up dropped toys, and playing DJ – all while I’m driving.  Not safe at all.

So my Feat this week is to give my FULL attention to driving, and to teach my kids to respect the fact that I’m behind the wheel of a moving vehicle.  And to all of you out on the road with me – you’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

