52 FEATS – NUMBER 42 (Stopping to Smell the Roses)

24 Oct

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE:

Lesson learned this week: there are roses everywhere.

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 42:

Last week’s Feat of purging things went great.  I’m not done yet, but so far, I’ve filled 5 garbage bags with purses, clothes, and shoes (all mine!), and tossed out a 2 1/2-foot tall stack of parenting magazines dating as far back as 2006.  Yeah, I think it was time to let those go!

This week I’m pretty jazzed about that, but my overwhelming feeling is that of being … well, overwhelmed.  I have so much on my plate right now!  October always starts such a mad rush of activities for us, and there are moments when I feel like I can hardly breathe.  And to be honest, it doesn’t really let up until after the new year.  It’s all fun stuff, don’t get me wrong – birthdays, Halloween, festivals, school parties, etc., but I’m exhausted trying to keep up with it all.  I’m worried about losing the joy, which would be heartbreaking.

My husband made a comment a few days ago about how he doesn’t have time to enjoy anything.  I immediately started to agree with him, even trying to placate him, by saying, “Yeah, I think that’s how most people feel, that there’s not enough time in the day to get everything done.”  But I was totally missing his point – which he was kind enough to point out!  He meant that we are so fortunate to have a nice home with many luxuries, and yet we rarely take advantage of any down time to enjoy the things we have.  We get (and stay) so busy that we can’t see the forest for the trees.  Life is hectic and nonstop, and probably always will be.

Sometimes I feel like I spend more time adding books to my reading list than actually reading, more time carefully arranging my patio furniture than actually sitting in it, and more time cleaning my house than just living there.  I hate that.

Life is NOT just about work, whether it’s work for pay or work for your family!  Everyone needs a peaceful break now and then, and I’m going to give myself one every single day this week.  Maybe I’ll stand in my backyard and look at the sky for a few minutes, or pet my dogs in silence, or snuggle on the couch and read a book.  I want to slow down and enjoy things, and that’s what I intend to to!

Leave a Reply

