Rant of the Week: I Want to Resign as Family Manicurist!

18 Oct

Like most mothers, I wear many hats:  cook, stylist, chauffeur, coach, nurse practitioner, psychologist, cheerleader, maid, pharmacist…you get the picture.

The one I hate hands down (pun intended!) is manicurist and its evil twin, pedicurist.  My children whine, fight, scowl, complain, and verge on tears.  Me?  I assure you I’m attempting nothing fancy.  No perfectly shaped “squovals”; nothing to do with cuticles.  I’m talking plain old trim so they’re nails aren’t sharp as one of those Japanese ceramic blades!  I don’t fancy the idea of either kids’ fingers doubling as weapons!

I quit.

Of course I can’t quit.  Sheesh!  What I can do is ask your advice?  How do you do it??

Help!

4 Responses to “Rant of the Week: I Want to Resign as Family Manicurist!”

  1. Nicola October 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I’ve discovered that for 3 bucks the nail salon by our house will cut and paint my daughter’s nails in under ten minutes. And the best part is that she considers it a real treat to get to go and sits perfectly still during it. Best thing I ever discovered. The trick is to take her on her own – not when you are going for yourself too. You go separately when you can enjoy it alone. Let us know if you try it and it works for you.

  2. Lisa October 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    That is awesome! $3?!?

    I’m taking my little boy there, too!!!

  3. Jen October 18, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Lisa, I don’t know how I ended up with 2 kids that have never minded getting their nails cut – luck of the draw, I guess! Next time your son comes over, I’ll clip my kids’ nails and let him watch. Who knows? Maybe he’ll get a different perspective seeing his buddies doing it without freaking out!

  4. Lisa October 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Yes to the demonstration! He says it hurts…I’ve considered filing his nails but neither of us has the patience!

Leave a Reply

