52 FEATS – NUMBER 41 (Cleaning House)

10 Oct

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

I don’t exactly mean this one literally, although my floors are pretty filthy right now and could use a good scrubbing.  (Sorry, honey!)  I’m in more of a mindset to clear out clutter.  I know that people usually do a spring cleaning, but I think fall is a great time to empty out cabinets and closets.  Maybe getting organized right before the holidays will help things run more smoothly during all the madness!

I’m certainly not a packrat; in fact, I like to keep “stuff” to a minimum as much as possible.  (That’s also why I don’t collect anything.)  I feel mentally overloaded when it looks like there’s just too much junk surrounding me.  But let’s face it, things accumulate, especially when you have kids.  I can hardly keep track of my own things when I’m constantly trying to manage the influx of plastic trinkets collected from birthday parties and restaurants, or even those found on the ground at the park.  (Yes, that last one really does happen to us, more often than you might think!)

So this week, I’m going to purge my closet, clean out the medicine cabinet, and maybe even tackle the craft cabinet and the overloaded laundry room shelves.  I’m sure I’ll have quiet a haul to take to Goodwill when I’m done!  And some peace of mind.

And – fingers crossed – maybe I’ll get around to some actual cleaning, too!

6 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 41 (Cleaning House)”

  1. momequity October 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Totally agree! I went into our attic the other day and made a little vow to myself that every time I put something up there I also have to remove something. Even if it’s small, it keeps you from way too much accumulation of stuff you don’t remember you have!

    • Jen October 10, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      That’s such a good point – I uncovered so many things in my closet today that I didn’t even realize I had! What’s the point of having all this stuff if it just sits in the closet??

  2. Lori October 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    The Dad’s Club is hosting a garage sale at the school later this month, so save some “stuff” for that too!

    • Jen October 10, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      Oh yeah, thanks for reminding me!

  3. Lisa October 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Gretchen Rubin in her book THE HAPPINESS PROJECT talks about the charge you get from cleaning out a hall closet. I totally concur! Come to my place when you’re done!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 52 FEATS – NUMBER 42 (Stopping to Smell the Roses) « More than Mothers - October 18, 2011

    […] week’s Feat of purging things went great.  I’m not done yet, but so far, I’ve filled 5 garbage bags with […]

Leave a Reply

