Adventures in Toilet Training – Part Two

29 Sep

Read Part One of Lori’s toilet training process by clicking here.

This week my baby is fifteen months old!  He definitely prefers the “regular” potty to the “training” or baby potty.  I went ahead and put the training potty in the back of my car for future emergencies.

This week I’ve been putting him in Pull Ups during the day.  I’m taking it slower with him, because everyone has told me it will be more difficult to train a boy.  I’m on the no-pressure plan.  I put him on the potty every morning after he wakes up and before he gets dressed.  I put him on the potty several times during the day, either when he tells me he needs to go (by signing “pee” or “poop”), or I can visually read his cues (like when he’s grunting in a squat, I know he’s pooping).  I also put him on the potty every night before bed.

I feel successful at this point if he uses the potty at least once a day.  He usually exceeds my expectations.  He only communicates his need to use the potty about half of the time he actually goes, but he’s been using the potty on average about twice daily.

He loves getting the positive encouragement when he goes.  He is eager to go tell everyone, and when anyone mentions it to him, he grins from ear to ear!  I’ve been talking to him a lot about what it feels like to be “dry” and “clean” as opposed to “wet” and “dirty”.  Whenever he poops in his Pull Up, I physically dump the poop from the Pull Up into the potty and show him, “This is where the poop goes!”  He then helps me flush it down and wave goodbye.

He doesn’t seem to need much incentive other than verbal praise.  He loves the toilet paper, to the point of obsession, so when he does go potty in the toilet, I give him a square of toilet paper which he then joyously shreds to tiny pieces.

Soon, I’m planning on doing the hard core training.  Stay tuned!

7 Responses to “Adventures in Toilet Training – Part Two”

  1. eliminationcommunication September 29, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    It’s great that you are starting younger than currently usual. Takeing advantage of that mimicry will make it more pleasant 🙂

    May I suggest training pants instead of pull-ups? It will help him feel wetness, pull-ups are still too absorbent.

    Happy pottying!

    • Lori October 4, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion. I started with Pull Ups in the very beginning, just to get started for a few days. I quickly progressed to the training pants for that very reason! Then, I’d use Pull Ups for naps and bedtime. I even got really cute plastic pant covers so that when we went in public, I didn’t have to worry about it making a mess if there did happen to be an accident! It was win win! He felt the wetness and I didn’t have to worry about cleaning urine off of someone else’s floor or furniture!

  2. Lisa September 29, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Making it fun seems like your best bet when it comes to potty training. One of the challenges with my son was that he didn’t want to stop playing long enough to go. We moved his potty chair into the living room, which helped. I was glad when he decided he liked the bathroom better!

    • Lori October 4, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Lisa, that’s too funny! Buddy doesn’t like to stop playing either, ESPECIALLY if we are outside. BUT, I keep the bathroom stocked with really cool/fun books that he only gets to read while we are on the potty. Within a few weeks, he got used to the drill. We have days though, where he’ll say he doesn’t have to pee and will refuse to get on the potty, and then he pees his underwear 5 minutes later! It’s just part of the process!

  3. Doodling Through Life October 2, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    I have a post on potty training too. My baby’s 15 months too. Best of luck!!

    • Lori October 4, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      Doodling, I LOVE your H-word post about potty training! Good luck to you! And 15 months is NOT too young! I’ve trained all three of my kids now before 18 months! In many other cultures, as you know, mothers potty train their children earlier than the American standard of 3! And, my son looks like he’s got saggy baggy britches on too, despite getting the 18 month size Gerber pants like you! The cool thing is, their shorts and pants last a LOT longer (provided they don’t get too tall too fast) because they have more room without a diaper!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in Toilet Training – Part Three « More than Mothers - October 5, 2011

    […] here for Part One.  Click here for Part […]

Leave a Reply

