52 FEATS – NUMBER 38 (Turning Off the TV)

25 Sep

UPDATE:

Well here it is, Sunday, and I have successfully completed this Feat!  It wasn’t easy; I had to constantly remind myself – and my husband – that I couldn’t watch TV.  It’s normal for us to watch a show or a movie after the kids go to bed, and that was a hard thing to skip out on.  I don’t watch much TV during the day, but at night when I’m exhausted, it’s about all I have energy for!

But I’m so glad I did it, because it did lead to some fun opportunities.  One night, my husband and I played Scrabble!  Another night, we went for a walk at the park while the kids were at their grandparents’ house.  And on another night, I went out for a walk around the neighborhood alone.  Heavenly.

And the reading…oh the reading!  I finished an entire book and started another one.  And these are “just for fun” books, not Book Club books!  That feels so luxurious.  From now on, I am definitely going to think twice before mindlessly reaching for that remote!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 38:

You may not want to hear this, but this week is National TV Turnoff Week!  (I kind of don’t want to hear that, either.)  So I’m making that my Feat for the week.  I don’t watch a lot of TV, but if I include all kinds of screen time (facebook on my laptop, solitaire on my iPad), I’m sure I rack up a lot more than I realize.

According to www.screentimeinstitute.org:

“Screen time cuts into family time and is a leading cause of obesity in both adults and children. Excessive use of screens for recreational purposes leads to a more sedentary and solitary lifestyle and that is unhealthy for all of us, both mentally and physically.”

This week, I’m going to make a concerted effort to cut WAY down on my screen time.  (I still have to work on my computer and check emails!)  I plan to get a lot of reading done.  I have a stack of books a mile high on my nightstand that I’m dying to read, plus some favorites that I really want to re-read, like the Twlight series and The Shadow of the Wind.

I have to be honest, it doesn’t hurt that two of my favorite shows (True Blood and Torchwood) just ended their seasons, so I won’t have to miss them this week.  But hey, it’s not my fault!  That was just a happy coincidence.

I’m dragging my kids along with me, but that will be my little secret.  If I tell them that we’re not going to watch TV all week, they will seriously wonder why they’re being punished!  I’ll just try to keep them occupied in other ways, like scrubbing toilets.  (So far today, with 2 sick kids, it’s not going so well – all they want to do is watch TV!)

I invite all of you to join National TV Turn Off Week with me.  Leave those sets dark, and see what else you can accomplish with that time.  Exercise!  Read a book!  Take a walk outside and enjoy this nice, cool(er) weather!

Enjoy life!

4 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 38 (Turning Off the TV)”

  1. Lisa September 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Rats! And tomorrow night is the season premier of GLEE! Does it count if you still set your DVR?

  2. Anne September 20, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Thanks, Jen! I am reinstating the marble jars this week. (We each get two marbles. You buy a tv show with it. When they’re gone they’re gone.) We gave up on it before b/c we, the parents, rely on morning pbs to get us through a couple calm cups of coffee. I want to re-read Twilight, too. Has it been like 3 years since the last movie?? I don’t even remember it. I need a marathon. Let’s make this happen.

  3. Jen September 20, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Lisa, as far as I know, TV Turnoff Week just says not to watch any TV this week – it doesn’t specify that you can’t watch double next week to catch up on your favorite shows! I’m not turning off my DVR!!

    Anne, that’s a great idea, having the kids earn their TV time. I know it would be SO easy for me to give up on that though, because like you said, I need TV sometimes to keep the kids occupied so I can get things done. Not always, but sometimes.

    Let’s meet in Waco and have a Twilight movie marathon. Seedy hotel?

  4. Anne September 21, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    Yes!

Leave a Reply

