Adventures in Toilet Training – Part One

21 Sep

This week, I started potty training my 14-month-old son, using the method I posted about a few weeks ago.  I knew he was ready when he started walking, wanting to sit on the potty, was communicating well, and was copying everything I was doing!

I started by putting a training potty just outside of the powder bathroom (the bathroom most utilized during the day).  Whenever I would use the bathroom, I’d invite him to come along and showed him where he could sit.  I picked out some interesting books for him, which I put in a basket next to his potty.

I talked about what I was doing, showed him how to sign “pee” and “poop”, and let him help me flush the toilet and wave goodbye.

Every morning before I dressed him and every evening before putting him to bed, either my husband or I would sit him on the potty.  One of the first few times we did this, he peed!  We got SO excited!  His two big sisters ran into the bathroom, we chanted the big boy chant, and he gave daddy high fives.  His smile beamed from ear to ear.  I knew he understood and was ready.

It became clear after a few times that he was going to be more interested in using the regular potty with the drop down child size seat, just like his sister did.  (How did I know?  He’d refuse to sit on the little potty and would point to the big potty and say, “that”.  It was pretty obvious!)

One of his favorite pastimes has become sitting on the potty and having me read to him.  I recently joked with my husband that I wondered if he was manipulating me, having quickly learned that telling me he has to potty is a quick and easy way to get my undivided attention sometimes for as long as it takes for someone else to need me!  Either way, I’m happy to oblige!

He picked up on the signs for “pee” and “poop” pretty quickly and can sign them back to me now.  I’ll ask him every once in a while if he needs to potty.  He will either shake his head “no”, at which time we continue doing what we are doing, or he will sign back and we will run to the potty.  A few times he’s come to me, signing that he needs to go!

He loves to mess with the toilet paper.  I’ve had to dismantle it and take it off the roll and put it out of reach.  Now, I use it as a reward.  If he goes in the potty, he gets to have some toilet paper to shred and put into the toilet.  If he doesn’t, it stays out of reach.

I find that the poop training is generally easier.  I could always tell when my kids were about to poop.  They assumed the position, being that of a sumo wrestler!  They usually made grunting noises to boot.  Whenever I see that happening, I swoop and scoop; pick up the toddler and run him to the potty!

He’s still in diapers because I am too cheap to buy Pull Ups until we are completely out of them.  I’ve got his big boy underwear all ready for Phase II!  So far, he’s peed about 5 times and pooped once in the potty!  Not too bad for the first week!

5 Responses to “Adventures in Toilet Training – Part One”

  1. Lisa September 21, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    I’m doing the “big boy” chat, too! Keep us posted on his progress!!

  2. Diedra September 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    YAY!!! Yes please keep us posted!

  3. Doodling Through Life October 2, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    you’re right! poop training is easier for me too. I totally relate to your scooping and running to toilet!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in Toilet Training – Part Two « More than Mothers - September 29, 2011

    […] Read Part One of Lori’s toilet training process by clicking here. […]

  2. Adventures in Toilet Training – Part Three « More than Mothers - October 5, 2011

    […] here for Part One.  Click here for Part […]

Leave a Reply

