52 FEATS – NUMBER 37 (Not Eating Fast Food)

19 Sep

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE:

I did great on not eating fast food, but I was a total, 100% bust on doing yoga this week.

I started out the week with a sick kid and a husband out of town.  The kid ended up getting better, then got sick again.  Then the other kid got sick, too.  And that taught me an important lesson: You can’t control life, especially when you have kids.  You’ve gotta learn to roll with the punches.

But I was glad for the fast food ban, because it really made think twice before I ate.  I learned that while I did crave the foods themselves, I was also craving the convenience they offered.  But it wasn’t that difficult to make myself something at home instead, and I saved money and calories to boot.  Win-win.

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 37:

Pretty self-explanatory:  Fast food is gross, I eat it too much, and it sets a bad example for my kids.  But I will miss it – it’s going to be a long week.

Since I’m combining that with a second try on my yoga-intensive week (see Feat Number 36 here), I fully expect to lose 10 pounds in the next seven days or life just isn’t fair!

2 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 37 (Not Eating Fast Food)”

  1. Anne September 20, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    I was totally addicted to the convenience of it. And it is really easy to backslide. One stop at Jack in the Box for a sandwich between schools, and the next day it sounds sooooo eeeeasy… then the food starts tasting good again. Stay off the crack!

  2. Jen September 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    You’re absolutely right. It really is addictive, and once you get a taste, you want more every single day. It is best just to stay away!

    I read In Defense of Food, and just loved it. It was really enlightening, and shocking to hear that all the “experts” have been wrong about telling the whole country to eat low fat over the last 30 years.

    But Michael Pollan’s general “rules” (like in Food Rules) really help me to make better choices about what I eat – but not in a neurotic counting calories and nutrients kind of way! It makes me sort of step back and take a rational view of what I eat and how much. That helps with the fast food, too. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

