52 FEATS – NUMBER 36 (Doing Yoga)

11 Sep

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE:

This week was a total bust.  I started off strong, doing hot power yoga Monday morning and Tuesday morning.  On Tuesday night I was really tired, but I just chalked it up to my aching muscles and extra exercise.

Wednesday morning I woke up with a nasty, full-blown, knock-me-on-my-butt cold.  My daughter had it, too.  She and I spent 3 bleary days on the couch watching TV.  I could barely stand.  Or breathe through my nose – an important component of yoga breathing, and just generally not feeling like crap.

But I’m not giving up on this one – I’m trying again.  Unfortunately, my schedule is much more hectic this week and I have a sick kid (my son’s got it now!), so I won’t be able to make it to the yoga studio 5 times.  BUT that won’t stop me from practicing at home.  I recently found a podcast done by one of the owners of The Yoga Project, Stacy Dockins.  (You can find it by searching LiveLoveTeach on iTunes.)  I can do the practice I enjoy so much, right in the comfort of my own home.  It won’t be quite as good as being in the warm studio, but it will have to do.

I’m still going to do another Feat for Number 37 (gotta get all 52 in this year!), but I’ll combine it with Super Yoga Week.  Looking forward to it!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 36:

I’ve always enjoyed yoga.  Over the last couple years, I’ve taken my practice to a much deeper level by getting into “hot” yoga – energetic, athletic, flowing yoga in a heated room.  I’ve done it so much that I don’t think I could ever go back to “cold” yoga.  I thoroughly enjoy feeling the heat as it gets into my muscles, allowing me to deepen my poses, occasionally taking them to places I didn’t think possible.

Yesterday morning, on National Free Yoga Day, I attended a free yoga class at Velociti Fitness in Arlington.  Instructor Beth Culler offered just the right combination of challenge and insight.  At one point, I remember her making a comment about striking just the right balance between work and ease.  I left feeling envigorated, empowered, and enthusiastic.

Lori, my dear friend and fellow More than Mothers blogger, has been told that 3 days of yoga a week will change your body, and 5 days a week will change your life.  I know that the life change won’t happen over the course of just one week, but I’m going to aim for those 5 days this week anyway to see what happens.

I’ll be going to The Yoga Project, my favorite Power Vinyasa yoga studio.  In a couple days, I’ll probably be so sore I won’t even be able to hold a pencil, but I’m going to keep at it and give it my all.

Namaste!

3 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 36 (Doing Yoga)”

  1. Lori September 6, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I love love love this feat! You can do it! I’d love to hear the insight you’ve gained from doing yoga this week in the end too! Doing two powerful and moving sessions back to back this week for me was amazing. I would strongly encourage everyone to come out and try the free class at the Ft. Worth Water Gardens next year. All of the elements were present: the sun, the Earth (we practiced in the grass), the wind, and of course the water. They had live music, gave out freebies, and inspired every single person to who took time out to “be” there. Namaste!

  2. Lisa September 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I began Vinyasa yoga at Velociti this summer and was hooked right off the bat. I truly feel like I’m taking a vacation every class. I spent an hour getting out of my mind and into my body, a mantra of Beth, the instructor. Since I’ve become more comfortable with the poses, I’ve really been emphasizing breathing. (I was practicing my “ujjayi” breaths in the car and my 5-year-old asked why I sounded like Darth Vader!) Best of all, I’m able to call up the calmness I feel during class when I’m in the midst of some crisis. I return to the breathing and focus on the “now,” not the maybes of later. I think that’s even better than the fact I’ve whittled an inch off my waist!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 52 FEATS – NUMBER 37 (Not Eating Fast Food) « More than Mothers - September 19, 2011

    […] I’m combining that with a second try on my yoga-intensive week (see Feat Number 36 here), I fully expect to lose 10 pounds in the next seven days or life just isn’t fair! Eco […]

Leave a Reply

