52 FEATS – NUMBER 35 (Valuing Myself)

5 Sep

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE:

This has been one of my favorite Feats!  Giving myself a daily ego boost not only made me feel better about myself in general, it also inspired me to be MORE.  More productive, more motivated, more everything – but not for the usual reasons.  I didn’t strive to be better because I felt like I was falling short; rather, I did it because I felt like I was awesome and I could accomplish anything.

This was easy and make such a difference in my outlook.  Give it a try yourself and see what happens!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 35:

I recently started reading a book recommended by a friend called The 10 Habits of Happy Mothers: Reclaiming our Passion, Purpose, and Sanity by Dr. Meg Meeker.  I’m not necessarily an UNhappy mother, but I’m always on the lookout for ways to improve things (which is why I also love Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project).  Anyway, I only got through one chapter – Habit 1 of the Happy Moms – when I realized I’d had the book so long it was already due back at the library!  Such is my life, and probably yours too – a stack of books on my nightstand just begging to be read, and not nearly enough hours in the day to get through them.

But, back to my point.  Even though I didn’t get through much of the book, I did read (and thoroughly enjoy) the first chapter, which is about understanding your value as a mother.  Happy moms accept the fact that they are valuable – we are valuable because we are our kids’ moms, and they need us and love us.  That’s enough.

As the author made the point about how we all tend to de-value ourselves, I realized that this whole 52 FEATS thing is kind of like that.  I’m trying to make my self different, trying to be “better” in the multitude of ways that I feel like I’m failing.  Very seldom do I think, “Wow, I’m doing great!” or “I’m an excellent mom!” or even simply, “Boy, my kids sure love me!”  Today’s woman is all about trying to do more, achieve more, be more.  That’s me, and most days I just feel like I’ve fallen short.

Remember that old SNL character, Stuart Smalley?  He always used to look at himself in the mirror and say, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!”  He was a joke, but daily affirmations of a your self-worth can drastically improve the way you feel about yourself.

So this week will be about telling myself I’m good just the way I am.  I am going to tell myself every day (maybe even write it on my bathroom mirror!) that I am a great mother, wife, person, and friend – whether or not I spend too much money, forget to take my vitamins, or need to lose a few pounds.

And soon, I’m going to get that book back from the library and read the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

