52 FEATS – NUMBER 34 (Keeping a Food Diary/Counting Calories)

22 Aug

Well, last week was a total bust.  Turns out that pedometers from the dollar store are really crappy.  I’m shocked!  I clipped that thing on, but I was either constantly (accidentally) hitting the reset button or it just wasn’t counting any steps.  And then the clip broke off.  So now it’s my daughter’s new toy – she calls it  her “counter.”  At least someone is able to use it.

But whatever – gotta move on.

I don’t want to do this next one, but I really need to.  I’m a 37-year-old woman, but I still have the mentality of my younger, skinny self.  You know the one, the teenager with the uber-metabolism who can eat whatever she wants without any consequences.  But I’m not her anymore, and unfortunately, it’s catching up with me.  Boo!

I know I’ve got to get myself back to the gym, but more than anything else I really need to cut down on how much I eat.  From what I’ve read, one of the best ways to do that is to keep a food diary.  I’ve got a cool app for my iPhone called “Lose It” that I can use to track everything I eat, and it automatically counts the calories.  I can also enter any exercise I do, so I can keep track of how many calories I’ve eaten in a day vs. how many I’ve burned.

I’m not doing a crash diet here, I just want to be more mindful of everything I shove into my face.  And if it helps me button my pants, so much the better!

Leave a Reply

