52 FEATS – NUMBER 33 (Walking)

15 Aug

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

I have a stressful week ahead – my son starts Kindergarten!  I thought about what Feats would go along with that – Crying My Eyes Out?  Looking at Baby Pictures Incessantly?  Not sure either of those are really productive, so this week I’m going to do one I’ve been saving for a rainy day (not literally, thank you hot Texas weather).

This week, I’m going to walk more.  I haven’t been getting nearly enough physical activity lately (thank you, aforementioned Texas weather), and the added exercise might help smooth out my worries.

I bought a pedometer (at the dollar store, so I’m sure it will work great) that I intend to clip to my clothes every morning.  My goal is to hit 10,000 steps every day, since that’s what a lot of fitness experts suggest.  I don’t have the slightest idea whether or not this will be difficult, because I don’t know how many steps I usually do!  I may be a pansy in the 2,000-step range.  Or maybe all the trips I make from the laundry room to my kids’ rooms will rack up well over 10K.  Either way, at least I have a concrete daily goal that I can work towards – and hopefully it will keep my mind of my son starting school!  Aaaahhhhh!!

(UPDATE:  Apparently I left my cool new dollar store pedometer in my husband’s car!  I’ll have to start this one tomorrow.)

4 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 33 (Walking)”

  1. Lori August 15, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I’m going to join in this one with you. My husband’s work is actually having a contest right now. The company is donating cash to the team’s favorite charity who collectively walks the most!

    • Jen August 15, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      Oh wow – how cool! Are they all strapping on pedometers to keep track?

  2. Lisa August 15, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    As a family we walk 20-30 minutes a day. I prefer to do it outside but not in the summer! Our house is configured in such a way that we have almost an indoor track. We’ve been pounding the pavement (tile, actually).

  3. Lori August 16, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Yes, the company gave everyone a pedometer to wear!

Leave a Reply

