52 FEATS – NUMBER 32 (Getting Organized…and Not Freaking Out)

8 Aug

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

My son starts Kindergarten next week.  Let me put that in a way that will bring you fully into my panic attack: My first-born child, who stays at home with me, starts full-time school next week.  At the risk of sounding like a tween … OMG.

I’m freaking out, I admit it.  I keep imagining him having lunch at school, surrounded by strangers – strangers! – and I start to cry.  Even when he’s done some part-time classes in the past, he’s never stayed anywhere so long that I had to pack him a lunch.  Control freak?  Maybe, but it’s just how our family life has worked out.

AAAAAAND my 3-year-old daughter is going to school part-time this fall, for the first time.  I’m apprehensive (see above-referenced freaking out), but also hopeful that those few childless days every week will leave me jumping for joy instead of crying my eyes out.

So – my personal psychosis aside, this week will be about getting organized for school!  It will be a huge change for my kids, especially for my son, and I want to make sure everything is calm and in place for him well before that first day.

Also, I rely on organization to keep my crazy brain ticking, and lately I’ve had these wild fantasies about everything I can accomplish while my kids are in school:  I’ll get in shape!  I’ll blog more!  I’ll take on more work assignments!  I’ll be room mom and PTO volunteer extraordinaire!  I’ll have the cleanest house on the block!  I don’t know if any of those are possible, but even if I can just dabble a little bit in each one, I’ll consider that a success.  The only way to even begin that process is to get organized now.

So for this week, it’s time to whip this place into shape!  Here are a few things I can think of off the top of my head:

Start getting everyone up early (yikes).

Clean out the kids’ closets, getting rid of anything that no longer fits.

Organize the kids’ rooms.

Finish buying school supplies.

Buy my daughter a nap mat.

Make sure my son’s uniforms fit.

Buy a new calendar and update my organizational notebook.

Label all school items (I’m buying some cute stickers from www.kiddotags.com).

Get my son’s Kindergarten notebook ready.

Designate places for all incoming papers.

Figure out how to set my son’s alarm clock.

So you kind of catch my drift.  I’m sure I will think of more as the week progresses.  I want this place to be a well-oiled machine to make our transition as smooth as possible.  But not freaking out?  I don’t know how to tackle that one!

5 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 32 (Getting Organized…and Not Freaking Out)”

  1. Stephanie August 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    You’re going to be fine!! That’s a good idea to make a list of all those things; I also worked on cleaning out clothes this past weekend…still had some 3T clothes in Hagen’s dresser! I liked your idea of the notebook and might do that. Labels are great – I use Mabel’s Labels and they are awesome. And have you bought the lunchbox yet? 🙂

    • Jen August 9, 2011 at 2:27 am #

      Haha – yes, we went the cheap way and got the freebie that came with a backpack at Toys R Us!! =)

      • Stephanie August 9, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

        LOL!!! 🙂

  2. Lori August 9, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    I need to get on some of these things myself! Thanks for the reminder! Also, I’m now envious of all the things you’ll be getting done while your kids are in school! I still have at least 4 more years before I can think about that!

    • Jen August 9, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      Lori, I just hope I use the time well! I keep thinking of Spiderman – with great power comes great responsibility…

Leave a Reply

