52 FEATS – NUMBER 31 (Taking Vitamins)

7 Aug

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE – DAY 7 (Sunday):

Well, I did it – I remembered to take a vitamin every day this week (even though some days it was pretty late before I got around to it).  And I actually have felt less tired.  I also exercised a lot more this week, which could have contributed to my energy boost.

But despite the possibility that my fatigue has simply been due to a basic vitamin deficiency, I think I will schedule a doctor’s visit just to be sure.  I was encouraged to do that by a friend of mine – she had similar symptoms, and it turned out she had not only a Vitamin D deficiency, but thyroid problems as well!  If there’s something else going on, I know it would be in my best interest to figure it out asap.  Gotta take care of myself!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 31:

I am always tired.  Let me repeat that for dramatic effect:  I. Am. Always. Tired.  I’ve thought about going to the doctor to get checked out, but I figured that once she heard I have a 3-year-old and a 5-year-old (particularly if she met said 3-year-old), I would be dismissed with a scoff.

“Of course you’re tired – you have two little kids!  What do you expect??”  (I just know she’d say that.)

Every time I mention the fact that I’m always tired, my aunt asks me if I take a multi-vitamin.  Ummm…well…my kids do!  Every day.  But I never remember to take one myself.  I suppose it’s worth a shot to see if regular vitamins might give me a little energy boost.

I know there are about a million different supplements people will say that I can/should take on a daily basis for better health, but I honestly can’t sift through all the information (arguments for and against them) to decide what I might need.  So I’m just going to take a regular, run-of-the-mill multivitamin.  Maybe after a week of that I’ll notice a difference in my energy level.  I hope so!

Leave a Reply

