Creating Kindergarten Memories – for Mom

28 Jul


ACK – my first child is about to start kindergarten!  I’m completely freaking out, of course.  But the good news is, he’s so excited he can hardly stand it.  He’s constantly asking me to remind him when the first day is – he can’t wait!

Besides the obvious question of what to do with myself (and my tears) on his first day of school, I’ve been brainstorming about what I can do to make the first day of kindergarten really memorable for him.  Can’t get a special outfit – his school wears uniforms.  Can’t go out for a special breakfast – his school starts really early.  I guess I can just take lots of pictures and tell him I’m so excited for him!  Hopefully just walking into his new school with me, his dad, and his sister will be memorable enough.

My aunt does this really cute – and simple – thing each year.  On the first day of school, she takes a picture of her kids standing on the front porch of their house right before they leave in the morning.  Every year it’s the same setting, same picture – but you get to see from year to year how the kids are growing.

I would also like to create a memory notebook for Kindergarten (and for every year at school).  I don’t really want to buy a pre-made one – I just like the idea of having a simple 3-ring notebook where I can store his artwork and any other special items from the school year.  A friend of mine’s son was at an amazing preschool last year.  The teachers created a notebook for each child, commemorating his or her year.  The notebooks contained pictures, drawings, questionnaires – they were adorable!  I’ve been thinking of a few things to put in my son’s notebook on the first day of school that might be interesting to look back on at the end of the year:

a hand tracing

a photo (of him, of his teacher)

favorite books, tv shows, movies

favorite color

friends’ names

3 things he wants to learn during the school year

height/weight

handwriting sample

Any other suggestions?  Yes, I realize that this is mostly about creating memories for ME.  But I can’t help it – my brain is getting slower and my kids are growing faster!

3 Responses to “Creating Kindergarten Memories – for Mom”

  1. Stephanie July 28, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    I think that’s a GREAT idea, Jen! Sure, it might be for you now, but I bet when he’s older it will be really cool for him to look back at that. 🙂 If I can think of anything to add I’ll let you know!

  2. Lori July 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    This is a really great idea! I LOVE the idea of taking a picture of the kids on their first day of school! I took a really awesome picture of my girls before school their first year. Big sister was giving little sister a “pep” talk. It truly captured a precious moment. My husband’s aunt saw the picture and surprised us by painting a portrait of it!

  3. Lisa July 30, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Love it! You’ve inspired me. I think I’ll use one of those bound composition notebooks. They don’t shed as much as the spirals. I picked up 40 of them last year on sale for 10 cents a piece!

Leave a Reply

