52 FEATS – NUMBER 26 (Keeping a Journal)

27 Jun

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

So last week, as I was playing, and playing, and playing some more (see FEAT 25 here), I quickly realized a few things:

1.  I would rather be doing just about anything than re-enacting the same 30-second story for Potatoheads a hundred times.

2.  A week of playing felt more like a week of saying yes – any time my kids asked me to do anything with them, I said yes and did it right then.

3.  Playing that stupid Potatohead game with my son paid off big time.  When my daughter woke up from her nap, the first thing my son said to her was, “Mom and I had so much fun while you were asleep!”  Wow.

4.  I should be writing this stuff down.

I no longer keep a personal journal, though sometimes I think about starting one again.  I’ve kept one at various points in my life, and for some reason, I always end up throwing them away.  Not empty pages, but full of writing.  For some reason, there’s something I don’t like about revisiting my past.

But my kids’ lives – that’s a totally different story.  They’re constantly doing and saying cute, hysterical, or completely crazy things.  That, coupled with the fact that I have a notoriously bad memory, means I need to do a better job of chronicling things.

I love the personal feeling of handwriting things, but I simply don’t have the time.  What I do have is a super-cool computer journaling program!  I update it from time to time, but what I’ve always wanted to do is start a daily report.  Even if it’s just a couple of sentences talking about what we did for the day.

So this is the week to do it!  Every evening I’ll set aside 10 minutes or so to write down how adorable/silly/maniacal my kids were that day, and all the fun things we did.  I’m sure in 20 years, it will be my favorite thing to read.

3 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 26 (Keeping a Journal)”

  1. Stephanie June 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    That is an awesome idea, Jen!! It will totally be your favorite thing to read in 20 years – and have them read, too. I love it. 🙂

  2. Lori June 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Journals are a wonderful gift to leave for your children! I keep three different journals going at any given time; one for dreams, one for everyday things (like what my kids are saying and doing), and one which details my spiritual path. I hope that one day when I’m gone, my three children can sit down, peruse the journals, and really KNOW me, what my dreams are for them, and how they too, can achieve their goals/dreams/happiness!

  3. Lisa June 29, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Jen:

    I just realized you are halfway done with your FEATS! Wow!!

    Maybe next week you recap your favorites and least favs the first half of this year!!

Leave a Reply

