Recycled Crayons Craft

15 Jun

A friend of a friend told me about this simple craft about a year ago.  It’s been on my list of things to do and I never got around to it until recently.  With the weather hitting the high 90s, the crayons my kids left in the car were no match for the heat.  They melted all over the inside of a pencil box we keep in the car.  Sometimes it takes an act of Nature to motivate me!

I did what I could to scrape the bottom of the pencil box.  I peeled all of the crayons and broke them into pieces.  The girls helped me, although they quickly got bored of the peeling part.  We put the piles of crayons in a disposable muffin tin.  (I wasn’t sure what the crayons would do to a non-disposable tray and I didn’t want to find out!)

I then put the tray in the oven set to 400 degrees for about 5-10 minutes.  You’ll know when it’s ready because all of the big chunks will be completely liquefied.

Once the crayons are completely in liquid form, I cooled them for about 5 minutes.  I then stuck the entire tray in the freezer.  It took about 20 minutes to freeze them.  Once they are frozen, you can remove them from the freezer and pop them out of the tins.  Leave them on the counter a few minutes and they’ll go back to room temperature.

*One useful tip is to try and fill the tins as high as you can.  If they aren’t filled, the crayons will be thin and will break easily when the kids color with them.

Leave a Reply

