52 FEATS – NUMBER 23 (Doing One Thing at a Time)

12 Jun

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

UPDATE – DAY 7 (Sunday):

This week was a little tricky, since I went on vacation with my family.  I kind of “lost” a few days while we were away, because I certainly wasn’t thinking about this blog!  But while I was home, I did work on doing one thing at a time.

Like I thought, it wasn’t easy, especially with two magpies constantly chattering in my ear.  It is a luxury you have to give up as a parent, getting to do what you want when you want to do it – even when the thing you want is just being able to finish the dishes!

Lisa had a great point, and I definitely felt the truth of it this week: multitasking is overrated.  Having my brain fractured into 20 different half-completed tasks does little to help my overall productivity; in fact, I really believe it slows me down.  Ever have one of those days when you’ve worked your butt off, and yet you’ve only marked one thing off your to-do list?  Yeah, I get those days a lot, and I think it’s from running around doing too many tasks at the same time – I get them partially done but not complete, and that is so frustrating!  I end up feeling like I have nothing to show for all my hard work.  So…I need to pick one thing, get it done, and then move on.  And try not to get too sidetracked by those magpies!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 23:

Lately, I feel like a pinball.  ZOOM, out of bed.  Bounce to the laundry room to fold clothes.  Halfway through a load, realize the kids are starving and bounce to the kitchen to make breakfast.  While they eat, I bounce to the back door to water the plants, let the dogs out.  Bounce back in to check my email and figure out where we’re going today.  Bounce to the dishwasher to start unloading, bounce to let the dogs back in, and oh yeah, remember the laundry I left half-done…bounce, bounce, bounce.

The funny thing is, I must think I’m being more efficient in doing things right when I see them, but the truth is the opposite.  Not only am I actually just running around like a maniac, I should know by now that it never stops.  I can do as much as possible as quickly as I can, but there will always be more and I’m wearing myself down trying vainly to tackle every little thing as it pops up, leaving other things unfinished.

My Feat this week: Do one thing at a time, and FINISH IT before moving on to something else.  I know that’s easier said than done with two small kids running around, but I’m going to give it my best shot!

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 23 (Doing One Thing at a Time)”

  1. Lisa June 7, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Multitasking is overrated!! And it does bite you in the butt more often than not. I hope this Feat goes well. I’m going to try, too. You’re right: the mental to-do list never goes away. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

