Lazy List of Boredom Busters

8 Jun

With summer right around the corner, I’ve got my calendar out and the planning has begun!  I got this brilliant idea from my close friend, Jean Marie Lopez, for putting together a list of fun/interesting things to do.  Why have a list?  Because it’s an easy way to find something to do in a pinch, like when it’s raining outside or the kids are whining the ever annoying, “I’m bored.”  (I’m not at all saying that I am committed to doing every single thing on this list.  I just like knowing I have a quick place to go to find something fun- instead of straight to the TV or computer, which could otherwise easily become my default).

I included my kids in making my list.  Here it what we’ve got so far:

(Items with an * next to them are FREE, items with a ** I plan to blog more about- so stay tuned!)

  1. Visit Dinosaur Valley State Park
  2. Participate in the library summer reading program*
  3. Indoor or outdoor obstacle course *
  4. Make playdough **
  5. Play in the sprinklers *
  6. Get an Arlington Parks & Recreation Passport and visit a park we’ve never been to *
  7. Go on a nature hike *
  8. Watch a movie at the Omni theater
  9. Make friendship bracelets
  10. Paint a canvas
  11. Make an A frame tent
  12. Find a Geocache **
  13. Hide a Geocache **
  14. Go letterboxing
  15. Do a science experiment
  16. Teach the kids to play four square **
  17. Visit Don Misenheimer splash park*
  18. 10 Terrific Weeks (Usborne Book program)
  19. Made homemade popcicles **
  20. Visit the Dallas Zoo
  21. Go to the Lakeshore Learning store
  22. Attend a concert at Levitt Pavillion *
  23. Have a backyard scavenger hunt *
  24. Have a messy day*
  25. Take the kids to Krispy Crème
  26. Recycle crayons **
  27. Go to the $1 movie
  28. Take care of the Webkinz
  29. Board game
  30. Complete a 1000 piece puzzle
  31. Learn a new song on the piano *
  32. Write a letter to a pen pal*
  33. Let the kids be mom for an afternoon*
  34. Visit the bookstore
  35. Ride the carousel at the mall
  36. Explore Internet Linked books online (Usborne books) *
  37. Visit PetSmart *
  38. Teach the kids to play kick ball *
  39. Visit Howard Moore Play Pool
  40. Bake a cake from scratch
  41. Draw a card and play one of the 50 games (Usborne books)

I’d love to know what you’re putting on your own list!  Feel free to share ideas!

4 Responses to “Lazy List of Boredom Busters”

  1. Diedra June 9, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    One of ours is TRY to have lunch with Dad. Something they never really get to do. Plus my husband works near the airport so we might go watch the airplanes take off/ land. Oh….and go to Legoland at Grapevine Mills.

  2. Lori June 23, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Oh yes! I need to add Legoland to my list!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roundtable Discussion – Boredom Busters « More than Mothers - June 23, 2011

    […] couple weeks ago, Lori wrote a great blog about Boredom Busters (click here to read it).  I loved it – I always enjoy peeking inside another mom’s head to see […]

  2. 52 FEATS – NUMBER 27 (Winging It) « More than Mothers - July 5, 2011

    […] Lori posted her great boredom-buster blog (see it here), I followed up with my list, too (here).  I made a comment to Lori that I thought about making a […]

Leave a Reply

