Cloth Diapering

2 Jun

Curious about cloth diapering?  Check this out from our guest blogger, Kayla!

When I found out I was pregnant, the furthest thing from my mind was cloth diapering.  I browsed baby name books, imagined what I wanted the nursery to look like, and started a registry for all the baby essentials.  Then some cloth diapering friends of mine encouraged me to invest in cloth for my child.  They told me how much money I could save, that it was much easier than I imagined and how much fun it was.  I’ll admit I was skeptical, especially about the fun part.

I’ve been using cloth diapers for a year now and I couldn’t be happier about my decision to do so.  Here is my breakdown on the nitty-gritty of using cloth diapers.

The pros

  • You can save a lot of money, as long as you are disciplined and do not get too caught up in getting all the newest and cutest diapers out there.
  • We have had much better luck with keeping poop contained.  The elastic on the back of cloth diapers has saved us countless times.
  • You will send significantly less trash to the landfill.
  • While the claims of possible harmful effects of disposables can be wildly exaggerated, you will definitely be exposing your child to fewer chemicals.
  • Believe it or not, you can sell your used cloth diapers.  On the same note, you can save by buying used.
  • You can save them and use them for your next child.  Then the savings really add up.
  • Let’s face it.  They are pretty cute and (my friends were right) fun!

The cons

  • You will have to do laundry every 2 to 3 days on average.
  • It may take some trial and error to find what works for you and your child.
  • You may not be able to use cloth while traveling.
  • You cannot be lazy about changing.  Disposables will contain more pee before leaking.  (Although I’m torn on whether or not that should actually count against cloth.)

If you are new to cloth diapers and are trying to learn more then here is some information that I hope you will find helpful.

Types of cloth diapers

All of the types can be overwhelming at first.  Don’t worry, there are many sites that will answer all of your questions.  To find out about the different types of cloth diapers click here or here.

Washing

Wash routines do not have to be complicated.  My wash routine is one cold wash (sometimes I use the “quick wash” option, sometimes the “normal” wash option) with out any detergent.  Then a hot wash with a scoop of cloth diaper friendly detergent and an extra rinse added on.  I line dry everything except for my cloth wipes.  The sun is great for getting out any lingering stains.

Where to buy

Cloth diaper stores are few and far between in most cities.  You may be lucky enough to live near one but if you are not then you will find no shortage of cloth diapers online.  You can find them on craigslist, “for sell or trade” sites (such as diaperswappers), ebay, as well as online natural baby and cloth diaper stores.  Trial packages are available which can help you save money while trying to find the type of system you prefer and which brand fits your child best.  You can also buy from WAHM’s (work-at-home moms) who sell on a variety of sites.

What you will need

After you purchase your cloth diaper of choice, you will need a few accessories along the way.  Wet bags will store your diapers in between washes and you will find them in many sizes.  I have one large wet bag that lines a kitchen sized trash can and two medium sized bags for when I’m on the go or in another part of the house.

Cloth wipes will save you from having pick out disposable wipes from your diapers.  You can save by getting cheap baby wash cloths.  I keep a small spray bottle that has some water and a few squirts of baby wash in it to wet my daughter’s bottom before wiping her.

A diaper sprayer that hooks up to your toilet will save you from having to dunk the diapers when they are dirty.  (But cloth diapers do not need to be rinsed while your baby is exclusively breastfed.  Their poop will simply dissolve in the wash.)

Last but not least, detergent that is safe for cloth diapers:  click here for a a list that breaks down which detergents will work and which ones are not recommended.

2 Responses to “Cloth Diapering”

  1. Carolyn June 2, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    To make things even CHEAPER, I made my own cloth wipes by purchasing a yard of fabric from a store and cutting it into wipe sized squares 🙂

  2. Jennifer June 3, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Anyone looking for a good starter set of mostly size small cloth diapers, 4 different brands so you can choose what works best for you and your baby, I am selling 19 CD with inserts for a GREAT deal on craigslist!!!
    http://dallas.craigslist.org/ftw/bab/2347570018.html

Leave a Reply

