52 FEATS – NUMBER 22 (Standing up Straight)

2 Jun

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

DAY 4 UPDATE (Thursday):

This has been a tough one!  It’s quite possible that for me, no other bad habit is quite as ingrained as bad posture.  I don’t even think about it doing it – maybe because it’s a constant, every-second-of-every-day thing, I just operate on auto pilot.  But I’m trying to “remind” myself often to sit or stand up straight.  I’ve also noticed that I scrunch my neck down – what’s that about??  Trying to correct that one, too!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 22:

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine posted a funny picture on facebook that had several different examples of bad posture.  At least, I thought it was funny until I realized that most of those examples look exactly like me!  Slumped shoulders?  Always.  One hip higher?  Most of the time.  Hollow back?  Never heard of it before, but yes.  I didn’t know I was such a train wreck!

As a mother of two little kids, I feel like I’m a little justified in my bad posture – after all, my entire world is near the ground.  I’m constantly bent over to deal with my children.  I’m grabbing, cleaning, hugging, picking up, etc.  But I’m starting to worry about the long-term effects this slumping will have on my neck and back (which are always sore, by the way).  It may be just a slump today, but in 10 years, what am I going to look like?

So for this week, I’ll be standing up straight, and hopefully I can make it a long-term habit.  I’ll be constantly reminding myself to have my shoulders back, head up, hips even, and both feet planted flat on the floor.  I might also do some exercises to strengthen my upper back and shoulders, which will help my posture.

So if I look taller this week, you’ll know why!

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 22 (Standing up Straight)”

  1. Lisa May 31, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Jen:

    YEARS ago (pre-children but post-Chuck so…2004, ’05??), my New Year’s Resolution was to have better posture. I worked hard! My back and torso ached for weeks at the sheer effort of keeping straight. But I did it. At least while standing. (I’ve maintained it, too, mostly out of vanity; I’ve read that good posture can trim 5 lbs or more from your look!)

    Now you’re motivating me to tackle Phase II all these years later: perfect posture at the computer. I need to sit straight, too, particularly given how much of my day screen time fills. Oooh. I’m trying right now and my back is screaming at me! All the more reason to give it a go.

    Thank you for jumpstarting my own take on this fab Feat!

Leave a Reply

