Pat on the Back

25 May

I was babysitting for a friend of mine recently, when her son (who is pirate obsessed) asked me for a “skull” sandwich for lunch.  I told him I was sorry, but that I didn’t have a skull cookie cutter!  He told me not to worry; I could just use a knife, “like mommy does”!   Hmmmmm, he was right.  I cut out little skull sandwiches for three children who ate really well that afternoon!  They were a big hit, even with my own picky eater who hasn’t eaten a sandwich in I can’t even remember how long!

That moment in time got me to thinking about kids, their uniqueness, and what they bring as individuals to the Universe.  I got to thinking about my own children too, their preferences.

I’ll never forget the time I was at Toys R Us with my oldest daughter.  (She was going through a phase where she fancied herself a princess.  She rarely went anywhere not in costume.  Her favorite was her Cinderella dress.  She would bedazzle herself in jewels as well.  I loved it!  I knew it wouldn’t last forever, and yes, I was “that mom” who let her where it wherever whenever.)  I passed an older woman who was grinning ear to ear and she said something like, “You’re a really fun mom, I can tell!”  That one simple statement made my year.

I am a mom who picks her battles.  Expressions like choice of clothing are not a battle I choose to engage in.  In writing this blog, I just want to express my gratitude to other moms who allow their kids to be who they are; expressing themselves in the ways they want.  Kudos to you moms (dads and other caregivers), who like me, allow their children to make their own clothing choices (my younger daughter is currently either in a swimsuit or leotard daily), even when they are mismatched, a costume, or not something we would pick out ourselves!

I think sometimes we forget that children are their own individual people with their very own preferences.  Some boys like to wear their hair long, or have an ear (or two) pierced.  Some girls like to have really short hair and wear football uniforms!

Universal acceptance starts in the home, and it starts with us grownups teaching our children!  Feel free to comment and share stories about your child’s personal style!  I’d love to hear about the craziest or zaniest outfit your child has ever worn!

One Response to “Pat on the Back”

  1. Lisa May 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I pick my battles, too–otherwise our home would turn into a war zone and who wants that?!? I can handle almost anything (mismatched outfits; picky eating; even forgetting to put away toys) but I’m a stickler for nice manners, good behavior in public and clean language. (“Stupid” and “hate” are considered profanities in our home!)

Leave a Reply

