52 FEATS – NUMBER 20 (Flossing)

19 May

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

DAY 4 UPDATE (Thursday):

I went to the dentist yesterday and had the delightful experience of him telling me that my teeth are “boring.”  Boring!!  Music to my ears.  No cavities, no gum disease, no fillings coming loose, no problems.  When it comes to anything medical-related, I’ll take boring any day.

Thanks to reader Emily, who mentioned a great idea – I need to include my kids on this Feat!  I don’t usually neglect anything when it comes to my kids, but flossing just hasn’t made it into our daily routine.  I’m guilty of skipping flossing for all of us.

I got some of the floss picks for my kids (the kids’ version is a little smaller and they come in an array of bright colors).  Fortunately for me, my kids don’t mind anyone messing with their teeth, or even going to the dentist.  Probably because before the first few visits they had, I talked it up endlessly.  It’s so fun!  So easy!  Let’s read this book about Dora going to the dentist – look how happy she is!  I actually fooled them into thinking the dentist was a special treat.

So when I mentioned to my kids that we’re going to start flossing every day, they sort of shrugged and said OK.  They weren’t fazed, which is good.  Maybe I can instill the flossing habit in them early, and it will stick through adulthood.  So far, I’ve been doing well with it, and it’s easy.  I can stick with this one!

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 20:

When I started this experiment, I half-joked about having a “flossing week” mixed in with all the other more important Feats.  But in honor of my long-overdue dentist appointment on Wednesday, I really need this one!

I’m a little embarrassed to admit I very rarely floss, and it’s probably been 2 years since I went to the dentist.  (Historically speaking, however, I have had very few dental problems in my life!)  I know I should floss because of gum disease and all that, but I just never do.  Of course the dentist is going to see right through me, and he’ll know I am not a regular flosser, but better late than never!

To avoid the excuse of not having enough time to floss at night, I bought some pre-made flossing picks.  No reason not to do it when there’s no set up involved.

Here’s to better oral hygiene!

3 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 20 (Flossing)”

  1. Emily May 17, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I want to go floss my teeth now! Like you, I’m not great, but you are right: those pre-strung flossers make it super easy. I’m really bad at getting my kids’ teeth flossed, too. (I know, bad mom confession!) Fortunately my 5 year old has no cavities! I found some helpful tips on this Mom’s Guide to caring for little teeth, if you ever need help in the kid dental care department! 🙂 And thanks for your inspiration today!

    • Jen May 17, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Emily, thank YOU for the inspiration! I’m going to include my kids on this Feat, too!

  2. Joy June 17, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Wow, it’s amazing that you are not a flosser yet the dentist considers your teeth boring. You’re lucky! I’ve also read the Mom’s Guide the previous poster talked about. It’s a great resource for kids.

Leave a Reply

