Mothers Helping Mothers – UPDATE!

10 May

Despite the fact that I was so late in organizing this project, I’m pleased to say that we ended up with a great haul for SaveHaven!  My kids and I delivered the donations on Friday.  We filled up two huge carts with clothes, toiletries, candy, toys, books, and more!  My kids also picked out some special Mother’s Day balloons for the ladies there.

My deepest thanks go out to everyone who contributed.  We’ll definitely be doing this again next year – even bigger and better!

ORIGINAL BLOG:

Calling all Moms!!

This Mother’s Day, I want to rally all you ladies to help me with a special project.  I’m going to collect donations for SafeHaven of Tarrant County, the women’s shelter.

I’ll spare you the long version of why I want to do this – in a nutshell, I feel lucky with the life I have and I want to help other moms.  The thought of being in a shelter with my kids is devastating, and being stuck there on Mother’s Day would most likely rule out any chance for celebration.  But with the help of donations (from caring people like us!), the shelter can give some small, special treats to the moms who are staying there.

Items on their Mother’s Day wish list include flip-flops, colorful socks, chapstick or lip balm, makeup, nail files, gum or candy, and body wash or lotion.

Their immediate needs also include women’s clothes and pajamas (can be used), kids’ toys (can be used), baby bottles, sippy cups, formula, and diapers.

I’ll deliver the items to the shelter next Friday, May 6.  Please contact me at jen@morethanmothers.com and I’ll be happy to pick up any items you’d like to donate.

Thank you to everyone who can help me with this!  Together, we can spread our good fortune and brighten the Mother’s Day of other moms who are facing a personal crisis.

Leave a Reply

