Autism Awareness Month: Upcoming Event!

12 Apr

One of the most challenging aspects of having a child with autism is the isolation. Before and many years after my now-teenage daughter was diagnosed with PDD (Pervasive Developmental Disorder, the medical term for autism), I would feel uncomfortable around other parents and their children, excruciatingly aware of the differences between Paige and typical kids.  I am not the most social chick at the outset; anxiety over my daughter only amplified my introverted tendencies.

But that was then.  Five years ago, I started writing columns about Paige for The Dallas Morning News.  The overwhelming response (a lady in Germany emailed me to thank me after one piece hit the web!) gradually lured me out of my shell.  And the support of friends, teachers, colleagues, and even strangers has helped me immeasurably, too.  Which in turn helps Paige.

In that spirit, I would encourage any parents with children on the spectrum to check out an event my friend and More than Mothers contributor Leigh Attaway Wilcox is co-chairing.  Her son, Ethan, has Asperger’s, and Leigh is a tireless advocate on his behalf.  She inspires me in countless ways.

Here are the details:

In honor of Autism Awareness Month – April 2011
The Autism Trust USA
Warrior Parents of Dallas
& the National Autism Association of North Texas
Warmly Welcome:
Dr. Andrew Wakefield
&
Rupert Isaacson & Kristin Neff
For a FREE Presentation and Book Signing on
April 28th, 2011 at 7pm
Angelika Film Center
7205 Bishop Road, Suite E6, Plano, TX, 75024

Learn more about the ongoing outreach and offerings of the National Autism Association of North Texas (NAA-NT) & Warrior Parents of Dallas & discover how Pay It Forward will work as a catalyst to forward progress for The Autism Trust USA.

Dr. Wakefield will discuss the Primate Project and Rupert Isaacson and Kristin Neff will share about life with their son, Rowan, who lives with an Autism Spectrum Disorder.

For more visit theautismtrust.com or naa-nt.org. For updates, look for our event page on Facebook by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

