52 FEATS – NUMBER 14 (Being on Time)

10 Apr

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

DAY 7 (Sunday):

This week wasn’t too bad, but it’s something I clearly need to work on – one week isn’t going to completely change me on this one.  On Thursday morning, my one early day in the week, I’m usually running out the door in a panic at 8:30 am.  This week, I was shooting for 8:15.  I didn’t quite make it, but I did make progress.  My kids and I sauntered casually out of the house at 8:20.  Not exactly my goal, but I made it a long way.  Earlier than usual, and not racing like a maniac.

I did a good job on Saturday, though.  I attended the Project Mom conference in Fort Worth, and a friend was picking me up at 7:30 am.  That’s really early for me!  I woke up before dawn to shower and make myself presentable.  I was ready to walk out the door – purse already in hand – when my friend pulled up.  Woohoo!

Today, I was going to a cooking class (which was so much fun!), and of course, I didn’t want to be late for that.  Unfortunately, once again I was waiting for my husband to get home before I could leave.  He’s not usually a late person, but for the second time this week he was running late, which made me late!  I was disappointed, but once again, it was beyond my control.

But that brings me to an important point: there are usually so many things beyond my control.  How many times have I been ready to walk out the door and one of the kids needs to use the bathroom, or spills something, or has a meltdown?  Or I realize I’ve left my phone in the house, or forgot to let the dogs back ins?  I’m pretty organized, but those things catch me by surprise all the time.  It’s just life, and crazy things happen when you least expect them.  How to plan for that?  I’m not sure, but the first thing that pops into my head is that I need an extra hour in my day.  That 25th hour is the answer to all my problems, I just know it.

My husband also thinks that I may have a hard time knowing how much time has passed without looking at a clock.  Recently I went outside to do some yardwork, and came back in after what I thought was only a few minutes.  Turns out, a LOT more time had passed.  Maybe my internal clock just doesn’t work well – but I don’t think that’s a good excuse for being late.  I just need to keep working on this one until I get better at it!

DAY 3 (Wednesday):

Just like I predicted, getting out the door on time basically means that I have to leave things (LOTS of things) unfinished at home.  This week, my bed has gone unmade, I’ve left dirty dishes in the sink (or even still on the table), and once I didn’t even pack any snacks for my kids – all in the name of punctuality.

Has it been worth it?  I guess so.  I hate to sound sour about this one, but I just really hate leaving the house in a mess.  I suppose my other option is getting up even earlier and getting more things done sooner.  But…JEEEEEEEEZ.  Right now, I feel like I work around the clock already!

But it does feel good to be on time, or even early.  Or maybe I’m just enjoying the lack of feeling crappy about being late.

I had one slip-up, but it actually wasn’t my fault.  I swear!  I was meeting some friends for dinner, and I couldn’t leave until my husband got home to watch the kids.  Unfortunately, he was running late, so that meant I was late, too.  But at least that really wasn’t my doing.

Tomorrow morning will be a true test of my abilities.  It’s our one day a week that we have to be out the door really early…8:15.  Ha!  I’m sure that made several of you laugh, but it’s true.  That is early for us.  (We are absolutely going to freak out at my house once Kindergarten starts.  We’ll have to leave by 7:40, 5 days a week.  Most days I’m barely rolling out of bed at that time!)

Off I go…wish me luck!

Original FEAT NUMBER 14 entry:

OK, seriously embarrassing confession time:  I am always late.

No matter where I’m going, what day of the week, or what time of day, I’m always 5-10 minutes late.  Not enough to make serious waves, but it really bothers me to think that people are waiting for me, or wondering where I am.  I realize how inconsiderate it is.  (I’m sure my friends will all back me up on this one, though they’ve been mercifully silent on the subject!)

I’m late for classes, playdates, meetings, you name it.  It’s always the same – about 5 or 10 minutes late.

And the absolute worst part of the whole thing is the amount of tension it causes me and my children when we’re trying to get somewhere.  We don’t have peaceful mornings where we’re calmly heading out to tackle our day; we have major running and screaming on our way out to the car, with me freaking out because we’re running late and my kids scrambling to get their car seat straps on.

The really crazy thing is, neither one of my kids is even in school full-time yet!  It’s not like we’re trying to make it to school 5 days a week, early in the morning.  We have a couple mornings a week when my son takes classes, and they don’t even start until 9 or 9:30.  (When my son starts Kindergarten in the fall, we are going to have such a rude awakening…)

I definitely know what my problem is.  It’s not that I’m disorganized, I just try to do too much.  On a typical Monday morning, I’m thinking, “I know I have to get my son to museum school, but I really want to finish those breakfast dishes, and if I ever hope to get through this mountain of laundry before I die, I just HAVE to start one more load before I go…”

And then boom, suddenly I glance at the clock.  Not only are we out of time, but we’re late.  Kids have been fed and dressed, but oh wait – did teeth get brushed?  Did we do my son’s allergy sinus rinse?  Did we practice the piano?  Do I have everything packed since I won’t be home for the next 6 hours??

This week, I’m going to do whatever it takes to be on time.  If it means that the house gets even dirtier or I get even farther behind on laundry, so be it.  I’m going to head out the door at least 10 minutes earlier than I usually would, to make sure I’m not late.  In fact, I’d really like to be a little bit early for everything.  I can do it!  Right??

2 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 14 (Being on Time)”

  1. Lisa April 5, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I ws NEVER late for anything until I hadn’t second child. Even running behind by 10 minutes makes me uneasy. I’m on this FEAT too!

  2. Lori April 7, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    It seems really difficult at times with three, but I value timeliness. So, there are almost always dishes in my sink and no one’s beds are ever made. I’m perfectly ok with that!

Leave a Reply

