52 FEATS – NUMBER 10 (No Caffeine)

13 Mar

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

DAY 7 (Sunday):

I am so pleasantly surprised that I made it a whole week with zero caffeine!  At the beginning of the week, I thought I might be tempted to cheat on this one.  I figured that the addiction would win out over any willpower I could muster.  But for some reason, I had no symptoms!  I craved sodas a few times, but when it was the worst I just had a root beer and got over it.

On the internet, you can find lots of websites talking about the addictive nature of caffeine, but you can also find quite a few that say caffeine is NOT addictive.  After this week of quitting caffeine but having no withdrawal symptoms, I don’t know what to think.

But whether or not I am/was addicted, I do know that the caffeinated drinks I used to have (coke, dr. pepper) were not healthy for me in any way.  Empty calories and sugar, in addition to the caffeine, pretty much confirm that.  So for my overall health, it’s in my best interest to stick to H2O and quit cokes altogether.

Plus – I lost a couple pounds this week!  Coincidence??

DAY 4 (Thursday):

Surprisingly, this has been one of the easiest Feats I’ve done so far!  I thought I would have crazy headaches and irritability, but nothing yet.  I would assume that if I’ve made it this far, I won’t have any issues.  Amazing!

Not that I don’t believe in caffeine withdrawal.  For health reasons, I quit my daily caffeine habit cold turkey when I was in college.  I remember a solid week of crying, splitting headaches, and overall crabbiness.  At the time, it seemed like the worst thing I’d ever experienced, and I remember being shocked that my body had that level of addiction.  I felt glad when it was over, and I never wanted to go back to that level of dependency.

Today was a particularly long day, and I was dying to stop and grab a Dr. Pepper – not for the energy boost, just for the taste.  It just sounded so yummy.  But I stuck to my guns, and ended up getting a root beer.  No caffeine, but a nice taste of soda.  Not bad.  (Found out that it doesn’t mix well with a Three Musketeers, though.  Ends up with a sort of Pepto Bismol type flavor.  Weird.)

If you’ve given up caffeine this week, I hope you’re over the worst of it by now!  Hang in there.  If you’ve made it this far, you can keep going.

ABOUT FEAT NUMBER 10:

I’ve decided that for this week’s Feat, I’m going to kick my nasty caffeine habit!  I’m not as bad as people who chug Red Bulls or hit Starbucks like it’s going out of style, but I have developed an addictive love for Coke and Dr. Pepper lately.  It makes me jittery, and it’s definitely not helping my waistline.

So I loaded up on ibuprofen to help with the headaches, and bought some lemonade in case I get a craving for something sweet to drink.

Anyone else up for kicking the habit with me?  I would write more, but I’m so…very…sleepy…

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 10 (No Caffeine)”

  1. Lori March 14, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    I don’t believe in coincidence! Good job on making healthy choices for yourself!

Leave a Reply

