So-Long to the Sweet Life

21 Feb

My name is Lisa and I am a sugar addict.

It’s official.  I’m adding one more resolution to my 2011 list—to give up that seductive sweet stuff.  I’m not kidding myself, either: this is gonna be tough.

Sugar, you see, has become a fully integrated partner in my life.  My favorite holiday?  Halloween.  My favorite food?  Peppermint ice cream.  I even use a body wash that smells like a vanilla wafer and burn candles that remind me of gingerbread.  Yum.

I am hopelessly hooked.

But I’m also something else: a wife, mother, daughter and friend who needs to stay healthy.  To that end, I’ve been tinkering with the notion of cutting down on my sugar intake for weeks.  During the holidays, I realized with considerable chagrin, no meal seemed complete without something sweet at the end.  My addiction was escalating!  More unsavory evidence: about the time I was putting out cookies for Santa, my tried-and-true trick of drinking a half-cup of tomato juice stopped satisfying my relentless sweet tooth.  Sigh.

The tipping point came this weekend while reading an interview with Gary Taubes, author of the new Why We Get Fat (Knopf).  Taubes reports that the French consume half the sugar we Americans do.  And he adds that the Inuits, who ate a high-fat diet but one without carbs, had almost no incidents of breast cancer…until forty-years ago when their diet started changing to be more like ours.  (American hegemony definitely includes diet—witness the dominance of KFC in the People’s Republic.)

So wish me luck and send me your sugar-busting tips!  With any luck and some willpower, you’ll be the biggest sweetie in my life this month!

3 Responses to “So-Long to the Sweet Life”

  1. Lori January 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Good luck to you, Lisa. I’m looking forward to hearing if anyone else has some tips for you. I could certainly use a cut back on sugar myself….especially the ones that are practically toxic (i.e. anything containing refined “corn” anything!

  2. Jen January 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    OK, I’ve never heard about the tomato juice thing – does that help curb a sweet tooth? If it does, I’m going out to buy a gallon! (Right after I polish off these girl scout cookies…)

  3. Lisa Martin February 21, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    Update on my sugar busting: What a flop! If anything, I started craving MORE sugar the minute I told myself I would eliminate it from my diet. I’m with you, Lori: anything with “corn” in it is a bad thing. I have a friend in healthcare (who also came from the cornfields of Nebraska) who swears that hyperactivity can be traced to corn syrup in most kids.

    Jen: The tomato juice trick works. It doesn’t take much, either. Just a few ounces and it’s enough to take away the craving. Which is strange because tomato juice doesn’t taste sweet to me. Whatever! It works. Now if only I could stop dreaming of brownies….

Leave a Reply

