52 FEATS – NUMBER 7

14 Feb

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

And now, for my next trick…

I’ve allowed myself to get into a very unhealthy rut.  Exercise has become a bottom-of-the-barrel priority for me.  I belong to a gym, but I rarely make it there.  At my house I have a bike, an elliptical machine, and an array of workout videos.  And yet, for some reason, I can’t seem to make it happen.

Here I am at 36, realizing for the first time in my life that I CAN’T eat a bunch of junk, not exercise, and still expect to fit into my jeans.  But this is actually not about my weight – though I admit, that’s currently a sore subject with me!

This Feat is about being healthy, for myself and for my family.  My body needs exercise.  My kids need to see that their mom is healthy and active, so they will be healthy and active themselves.

February is National Heart Month.  According to the American Heart Association, more than 82 million Americans have some form of cardiovascular disease.  If I don’t do something to prevent it, I could easily be one of them.

Every day this week, I’m going to do AT LEAST 30 minutes of cardio.  (I realize that strength training is also important for a healthy, strong body, but this week I’m going to focus on my heart health!)  If I can make it to the gym, I will either hit the cardio machines or attend a class.  If I’m stuck at home, I’ll either go jogging/walking, do a bike ride, or use my elliptical machine.

Along the way, I will be posting some important facts about heart health.  Now is the time to take charge of your health!  I hope everyone will join me for this important Feat.

5 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 7”

  1. Val February 15, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    You could add a stair climb event to your cardio list. =)

  2. Lori February 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    When you find out the how to find the time to add 30 minutes of cardio in daily, let me know your secret! If it doesn’t involve chasing the kids at the park, I don’t know how I’ll do it! Although, here I sit writing this, when I walked to and from the park pushing the stroller this morning! Yay! One day down! How many more to go?!!!

    • Jen February 16, 2011 at 4:07 am #

      Lori, I’m glad to know you also find it difficult, so at least I’m not alone! My secret worry is always that everyone else has things figured out, while I can’t seem to get a handle on it. And here it is, 10 pm, and I haven’t had time to exercise today. I have been away from my house the vast majority of the day (story time, park, piano, gymnastics, consignment sale!), and I just don’t know when I could have squeezed it in. I don’t usually keep a stroller in my car, but maybe I could have brought a stroller with me to the park and had the kids take a 30-minute break while I walked or ran them around in it?? Tomorrow is more of the same – maybe I’ll throw my stroller in the car before I head out and make a pit stop somewhere for 30 minutes!

      I can’t believe I failed today. But it’s so late, I’m EXHAUSTED, and my house is a wreck, which I cannot ignore. Boo for me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates on Feat #7: Exercising « More than Mothers - February 15, 2011

    […] « 52 FEATS – NUMBER 7 The February Prayer Project – The Dreaded “N-” Word […]

  2. Updates on Feat #7: Exercising « More than Mothers - February 17, 2011

    […] For the original Feat #7 blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

