52 FEATS – NUMBER 6

7 Feb

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

Wow, what do you know?!  My meditation (and the Gyan Mudra) from Feat #5 really DID lead me to my next Feat.  Cool…

I have decided that this will be my week of removing myself from the ugly world of consumerism.  This week, I’m not buying anything unless it is absolutely essential to my existence.

No restaurants, no shopping, no buying gifts.  Nothing that requires me to spend a single dime.  I’ll even avoid the Fort Worth science museum, which makes me pay for parking even though I have a membership.  (Not fair, people!)

And this week is the PERFECT time to do it.  I was grocery shopping today, and if for some reason I didn’t have access to a calendar, I clearly could have figured out that Valentine’s Day is right around the corner.  Rows and rows of candy, heart-shaped trinkets, and giant stuffed animals covered half the store.  It was enticing, but I couldn’t decide what I wanted to get for my kids, so I ended up leaving that area empty-handed.

I’m glad I did!  This gives me the chance to be more creative with any gifts I give to my husband and kids for Valentine’s Day.  I always encourage my kids to give hand-made gifts to their loved ones – I think it’s time I do the same.

There might be one or two things that I have to buy; for example, I know my car needs gas, and since I have to take my son to school twice a week, I can’t avoid spending money on that.  And if we run out of milk, that would be OK for me to buy.  But anything else, I will just have to do without.

I’m actually glad that I didn’t plan this one out in advance.  I didn’t stock up on extra stuff I would need or want this week.  I did my regular grocery shopping today, and that should be fine to get me through the week.  And I’ll just have to use some creativity and ingenuity for the “extras,” like Valentine’s gifts.

This Feat was inspired in part by the book Not Buying It by Judith Levine, which I admit I haven’t read yet, but I’d like to.  (I’ll be borrowing it from the library, not buying it, of course!)  I heard an NPR interview with her about this and found it intriguing.  She trimmed down to the basics for an entire year.

In comparison, I know that one week is just a drop in the bucket, but I’m still going to give it my all.  I’m sure I’ll be feeling the pain at least a few times.

This does leave me with one dilemma, though…what if I have a gift card?

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 6”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates on Feat #6: Not Spending « More than Mothers - February 8, 2011

    […] « 52 FEATS – NUMBER 6 The February Prayer Project – Questions and Answers […]

Leave a Reply

