52 FEATS – NUMBER 4

24 Jan

On a daily basis, I set my standards ridiculously high for what I want to accomplish:  clean the house, teach my kids, exercise, make sure the kids get exercise, do laundry, write, read, feed my family, spend time with my husband, etc.  At the end of the day, I almost always feel like I’ve failed.  I honestly don’t know how it’s possible to do all that in a day (or even a week), much less tackle some of the “big” things I would like to try in my life!

And yet…I always seem to have time to check my email and facebook accounts a lot.  I mean, A LOT.  To be perfectly honest, it’s getting kind of ridiculous how often I check those things.  I don’t even know how many times a day – maybe 100 or more.  Seriously.  There’s my confession. I open my eyes in the morning and immediately reach into the nightstand for my iPad. Pathetic.

It’s time to break myself of this habit that’s wasting so much of my time, and taking me away from my family and other, more important, things in life.

For the next week, I’m going to cut down on this – WAY down.  And I can already tell it’s going to be hard.

I was inspired to do this by the LUST (Look Up Stop Texting) campaign.  Its founder is on a mission to get people to live in the moment, and stop missing out on life by burying their heads in PDAs.  You can find out more about this by visiting www.lustbklyn.com.

Because of the More than Mothers blog, I do need to use facebook every day.  But I see no reason why I would need to check it more than twice daily – once in the morning to post some MtM stuff, and once in the evening to see if anyone has left a message.

As for email, I don’t think that Ed McMahon is likely to make me a millionaire by sending me an email message that requires an immediate reply.  So twice a day for that, too.  I’ll still be allowed to use my computer and iPad for writing.

Since I’ll only be checking my messages twice a day, I don’t really see any need to use my iPhone for that purpose at all.  I’ll still keep it with me, of course (for the “phone” part of it), but I’m not going to check it.  I guess I’ll have to avoid texting, too.  That’s going to be a tough one.  For me, grabbing my phone to check messages or send a text message is like a smoker lighting up a cigarette.  Do they make a gum for quitting your iPhone?

The upside of this: all the time I will gain!  I might actually get to the gym or see the bottom of my clothes hamper.  And the best part – I can be more present for my family.  I will be with them 100%, not just standing there nodding, while my attention is elsewhere.

So for the next week, if you need to reach me to tell me I’ve won the lottery, pick up the phone – and call!

3 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 4”

  1. Lori January 24, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Jen, I think this is a great idea! I took off completely the first week in January and was SO glad I did. I keep toying with the idea of canceling my account. One thing I did was to take the FB app off my phone. Now, I can’t just sit there and check it EVERY single time someone makes a comment! The first day is rough, but after that, you get busy living your life. Too busy to worry about every little thought everyone in your world is having every minute of the day.

    • Jen January 24, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      Lori, that’s a great idea! I’m going to take the FB app off my phone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates on Feat #4: Checking Messages « More than Mothers - January 25, 2011

    […] For the original FEAT NUMBER 4 blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

