52 FEATS – NUMBER 3

17 Jan

Click here for the original 52 FEATS blog.

Time for something really juicy.  (NO, it’s not the sex thing.)  I’m going to do something that is extremely helpful to humanity, is really easy to do, and almost anyone can do it.  It costs you nothing, and you can do it over and over.  But it’s also gross and makes me reeeeeeeeaaaally squeamish.

Can you guess what it is?

Blood!  The stuff of life.  Vampire food.  I’m going to give blood for the first time.

I’ve always known the importance of donating blood, but my life-long fear of needles has prevented me from doing it.  I remember several years ago when my office had a blood drive, saying that I wished I could donate, really I did, but I didn’t weigh enough to meet the qualifications of being a donor.  Oh, darn.

That being – ahem – no longer an issue, I think it’s time I get over my fear and just do it already.  I’ve had 2 kids, for crying out loud!  There are few things more gruesome than that.

January is National Blood Donor month.  And these 52 Feats are about going beyond my comfort levels, doing things that are good for me or the world at large, and really sticking my neck out there.  So I’m going to do it.  I have an appointment on Thursday at 6:30 pm.  Between now and then, I’m going to post some statistics for you about the need for blood, fill you in on the donor guidelines, and basically just try and recruit as many people as possible to give blood this month along with me.

I’d love to hear your encouragement and stories of how you’ve donated blood – or needed donated blood.  I’m willing to bet most of you have been personally touched by this issue in one way or another!

One Response to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 3”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates on Feat Number 3 – Donating Blood « More than Mothers - January 18, 2011

    […] For the original Feat Number 2 blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

