52 FEATS – NUMBER 2

10 Jan

Feat: To keep up with the news as much as possible, every single day this week.

Why it will be hard: I never watch or read the news.  In my view, the news is sort of like politics.  It’s a game and I don’t know who to believe.  I avoid politics, and I avoid the news.  Where do I even start?  CNN.com?  The local newspaper?  The Today show?  (Oh please, not the Today show…)

Purpose: To have an inkling about what’s going on in the world.

Inspiration: Three different times in the past week, I’ve had this said to me:  “You mean you haven’t heard about that?!?”  It’s starting to grate on my nerves.  NO, I didn’t know there was a huge Christmas blizzard in the northeast.  NO, I didn’t know a bunch of birds were mysteriously dropping out of the sky.  NO, I didn’t know that a young Arlington cop was shot and killed in the line of duty.  It seemed like hearing that so often lately was pointing me directly to this next Feat.

My initial thoughts: Oh boy, I am SO dreading this one.  Every day for the next week, I am going to do something I loathe.  Something that makes me cringe, makes me want to crawl under a rock, makes me almost nauseous.  I’m already sickened at the thought of watching one of those news shows where they’re doing a main story, there are 4 different “experts” giving their opinions in different windows on the main screen, and then half a dozen different scrawling headlines of something else entirely.  GAG.

Click here for the original 52 FEATS blog.

4 Responses to “52 FEATS – NUMBER 2”

  1. Stephanie January 10, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Jen, just go to cnn.com once or twice a day for U.S./world news, and I sometimes check the local nbc website for local stuff (nbcdfw.com). That way you don’t have to sit through a news show and get people’s perspectives, necessarily, you can just read about what’s going on at your own pace, plus then you don’t have to subject the kids to hearing about all the bad news stories. 🙂

  2. Stacey January 10, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I also stay away from watching the news on television. I prefer to look online at BBC and listen to NPR whenever driving–they make me fume the least.

  3. Jen January 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Stacey, you’re the second person to mention BBC news to me – I need to check that out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feat Number 2 – Updates « More than Mothers - January 12, 2011

    […] Posted January 12, 2011 by Jen in For Grown-Ups, General. Tagged: 52, 52 feats, article, cnn, experiment, feat, feats, news, no. 2, number 2, number two, social. 2 Comments For the original Feat Number 2 blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

