52 FEATS – Feat 1, Day 7

10 Jan

The last entry for Feat #1!  I’m going to change up the format a little for the next Feat, keeping all the updates together to see if it’s easier to read that way.  Thanks for being here!

Today is the last day of my 1st Feat; however, I didn’t have much of a chance to try it out due to the winter weather we’re having today.  Snow, icy rain, etc.  No one leaves the house much when that happens in Texas.

I did do a quick trip to the grocery store this morning, though.  As I turned corners and encountered other shoppers’ carts, I looked at them, smiled, and said, “Excuse me.”  Before this week, I still would have said, “Excuse me,” but it would have been directed to the floor.

My husband, a naturally gregarious person who strikes up conversations with strangers quite freely, asked me if I plan to continue this Feat once the week is over.  I didn’t have to give it a moment’s thought – I definitely will.

Though it may sound corny (especially to my own notoriously pessimistic ears), I do think positivity is a good thing.  And a person’s mood and attitude are contagious – good or bad.  I’d like to think I’m part of the solution, not part of the problem.  I want to spread a little bit of happiness and joy, not crankiness and melancholy – even if I have to fake it.

So am I going to beam like a ray of sunshine every day?  Probably not.  But I do feel like I’m going to be more open, more accessible, and more friendly.  I think it has made me feel more connected with people, and that was the whole point of this Feat.  I was amazed that not once did anyone seem put off by me saying hello; in fact, I got nothing but smiles and hellos in return.

Feat 1 = success.  Only 51 more to go.

For the original FEAT NUMBER 1 blog entry, click here.

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

2 Responses to “52 FEATS – Feat 1, Day 7”

  1. Lori January 10, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Well you made it through your first feat! It sounds like it feels pretty good! I’m so glad that you’re doing this. Whether you know it or not, you are becoming an inspiration to others. Little things people do for one another may not seem like a big deal, but by extension, you have the potential to affect many. Keep up the good work! You should be very proud of yourself! (I know that’s a total mom thing to say!)

  2. Jen January 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Thanks so much, Lori! It was a really great one to pick for the start of the year. It felt really empowering. And I’ve kept it up this week, too!

Leave a Reply

