New Year, New Me

5 Jan

I, along with a slew of other Americans, will be resolving to make changes with the new year.  Many years ago, I was a list maker.  You might even call me obsessed about them.  I had lists for everything.  What I wanted to read, what I wanted to buy, things I needed from the grocery store, things I wanted to try, people I needed to call, things I needed to do, etc.  My lists were out of control, usually on sticky notes which were easily lost or carried off somewhere stuck to who knows what.

This year, the first change I will implement is no lists.  I am tired of being bogged down, feeling let down by myself when I am unable to accomplish every single thing I write down.  When I worked at CPS, my boss used to tell me, “Lori, everything will be there tomorrow.  Take a break!  Don’t worry about your To-Do List.”  I did worry about my To-Do List, though.  Fortunately, things are easier now, as I no longer have to make legal decisions for other people and no one’s (with the exception of my own children’s) lives are dependent on the decisions I make.

The main things I want for this year is to be more present and simplify.  I will make this happen several ways.  I will practice yoga regularly at least once a week.  I know that when I am balanced and grounded on my mat, the rest of my life will be balanced and grounded as well.

Although I can’t up and quit my job or forego any of the other responsibilities I have in my daily life, there ARE things I CAN do.  I just joined a movement on Facebook to take one week off.  So far, there are nine other people doing it with me!  That’s ten of us who, for an entire week, will be more productive than we otherwise would be.  For me, it means more time with my family.

With that temptation gone, I will work at others.  Maybe I will forgo laundry, cleaning, and errand running as well!  Imagine the time I will create for myself, which will be given to my family!  What a gift!

One Response to “New Year, New Me”

  1. Jen January 13, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Lori, I’m right there with you this year. I am a big list-maker, and work constantly to be able to check things off my lists. But this year, my mantra is:

    simple, simple, simple…

    It has calming effect on me, and helps me unwind my brain when I get too caught up in getting things done. Just saying that to myself often makes me stop what I’m doing and just sit down on the floor and do a puzzle with the kids. Yes, there are dirty dishes in the sink and the floor needs to be vacuumed, but that is not why I stay at home with my kids!

Leave a Reply

