52 FEATS – Feat 1, Day 2

5 Jan

Today was Day 2 of Feat Number 1 – greetings to my fellow earthlings!  As with the first day, I’m finding that this is a habit that will take some time, since my normal way of reacting to (or avoiding) people around me is pretty ingrained in my subconscious.

The first public place I went today was the library.  Most of the time I was there, I have to admit that I was pretty engrossed in conversation with a friend of mine, so I wasn’t paying attention to anyone around me.

At one point, I was in story time with my kids – obviously not an ideal place to say hi to people, since everyone is sitting quietly.  But I found myself trying to just remain available, in case anyone happened to look in my direction.  I sat there with, I admit, kind of a goofy grin on my face.  Patiently waiting.  Any time someone looked my way, I beamed my 10,000-watt smile at them.  Am I a total lunatic??

At the grocery store, I did the opposite of Lowe’s yesterday – I actually chose an aisle BECAUSE it had someone on it.  I said hi to some lady putting spaghetti sauce in her cart.  She said hi, but then said she was sorry – she thought she was in my way.  Being annoyed shouldn’t be the only reason a person says hi.

(I started up a conversation with the checker, but then got worried that he thought I was flirting with him.  He complimented my necklace and asked me where I got it.  When I told him it was from my husband, his smile faded and he tuned me out.  Married lady burn!)

What feels different to me, like when I was in story time, is the simple feeling of making myself accessible to others.  That is an odd, yet refreshingly positive, feeling.  Smiling always makes you feel better, even if it’s fake.  It sort of pumped up my mood to have the smile on all the time.  Again, I probably looked like a moron, but who cares?  It felt good.

For the original FEAT NUMBER 1 blog entry, click here.

For the original 52 FEATS blog entry, click here.

One Response to “52 FEATS – Feat 1, Day 2”

  1. Stephanie January 5, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    You broke that poor cashier’s heart… 🙂 This is awesome, Jen; I love it. What an interesting experiment in human nature! 🙂

Leave a Reply

