Resolve This – Roundtable Discussion

27 Dec

OK, so I know the statistics are against my success, but I do it every year anyway – I make a New Year’s resolution list.  And it’s a doozy.  Sometimes dozens of items.

My husband makes one, too – he jots down a couple of things.  Then he rolls his eyes at me as my list grows exponentially every day until January 1.  (He laughed for weeks the year I wrote, “Grow out hair” on my resolution list.  He didn’t think that should really count as a resolution – but hey, I accomplished it!)

I’ve usually been able to cross off about half the items on my list each year, which I suppose isn’t too bad.  But I don’t think I’ve ever changed a bad habit, which is something I’d like to do.  People say the trick is to make small, specific resolutions – instead of a general one like “Exercise more,” you can resolve to hit the gym twice every week.  Or instead of the ever-popular, “Lose weight,” you could just resolve not to eat fast food.

Who else out there makes a resolution list?  Be honest – how long do you actually stick with it?  Any secrets for success?  I could use some tips before I start making my list for 2011!

2 Responses to “Resolve This – Roundtable Discussion”

  1. Lisa Martin December 30, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    I love the New Year–and resolutions, too. Both feel like you’re given a clean slate and a fresh start, and I appreciate that! The most success I had at a New Year’s resolution was years ago when I vowed to work on my posture. I’ve stood straighter ever since! I’m still trying to come up with my 2011 res. I’m thinking it’ll involve my thighs!

    • Jen December 30, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Haha, nice one, Lisa! The year that you worked on your posture, was that your only resolution?

Leave a Reply

