Slow Down the Season…Please!

20 Dec

I’m having a near-panic attack this holiday season.  Surprisingly, it has nothing to do with shopping for the perfect gift.  (I’ve finished my shopping AND wrapping already, which is definitely a new record for me.  And it was no small feat – I have a LOT of people to buy for.)

My panic attack has to do with the fact that it feels like the season is slipping away too quickly, and I’m afraid I’m forgetting something.  I keep feeling like there’s more I should be feeling, more I should be squeezing out of this month.

Christmas is only days away, which has me worrying – what holiday-themed celebration have we missed?  What movies did we forget to watch?  What crafts did we neglect to do?  It’s almost too late!

Perhaps this is more of a general feeling I have about my life right now.  My kids, now 3 and 5, seem to be growing so fast I can’t hang onto anything.  Even my memories are hard to hang onto.  And today, my son is sporting his first loose tooth.  How did all of this happen before my very eyes?

Since my shopping obligations are complete, I plan to spend the rest of this week reveling in as much family time as I can get.  Let the housework go undone; let the laundry pile up.  I’m going to watch Christmas movies, drink hot chocolate, and lay by the fire with my kids and husband.

And maybe by New Year’s we’ll have our first visit from the Tooth Fairy!

Leave a Reply

