Thanksgiving Traditions

24 Nov

When I think about Thanksgiving, I think not only about giving thanks, but also about tradition.  Growing up, my family participated in a number of family traditions – some religious, some handed down through the generations, and some just plain made up!

Now that I have children of my own, I’m figuring out which traditions to continue, which to give up, and entirely new ones to try out.

Most of our extended family is local, so we have never had to worry about traveling for the holidays (one thing I am grateful for).  For the past few years, we have had two Thanksgiving celebrations in the same day; one with my in-laws, usually early in the day, and one with my parents, around dinner time.

Having recently moved into a bigger house, we have decided to throw previous tradition to the wind, and invite both sides of the family to come together and join us at home this year.

I’m remarkably impressed with my own “Zen” attitude about it this year.  I will not fret about anything.  I have asked everyone to bring a dish to share.  My father-in-law is coming early in the day to prepare the turkey and dressing.  I will be making a butterscotch pie and preparing a fruit salad.

When I reflect upon the story of the first Thanksgiving, several things come to mind: family/friends, food, and giving thanks.  We will continue the tradition from my childhood, in giving thanks for one thing as we sit around the table prior to the feast.

As the aroma of the cooking foods fills the environment, the kids will play together, the family will bond, and we will all be grateful for all of the gifts we have received and the gifts we are able to give to others as well.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

