Just Breathe…

15 Nov

I’ve just come off of what feels like a year-long whirlwind of events:  both kids’ birthdays, my husband’s surgery, my first freelance writing gig, a food drive, and so many Halloween festivals I’m going to be eating candy until April Fool’s Day.  I honestly haven’t had a weekend with any free time (and by that, I mean time to clean the house and keep things organized) in 2 months.  I’m not asking for a spa day – just some time to tackle the pile of paperwork on my desk.

I’m so wiped out I can hardly see straight, and my house looks like the “before” picture in a makeover.  So what to do?

My instinct is telling me to panic.  Yes, I have that kind of inner voice, the one that tells me things have to get done now, now, now!  Things cannot go undone or else…I don’t know, something bad might happen!  It’s the side of me that my husband calls “a hamster in a wheel.”

But, as much as I hate to admit it, I just can’t do it all.  I can’t keep up with all the laundry, cooking, housework, bill-paying, and shopping while also providing my kids with intellectual stimulation every minute of the day, trying to do some part-time work, and oh yeah, organizing all that Halloween crap in the garage that looks like a flea market…so we can turn right around and get the Christmas decorations out.  Calgon, take me away!!

So while I know what I WANT to do (park my kids in front of the tv, drink lots of caffeine, and clean like mad for an entire week), here’s what I NEED to do…just breathe.

Take some long, slow, deep breaths.  Read a book with my kids.  Go take a walk outside.  Blow bubbles.  Play a board game.

And most of all, just accept the realization that it’s not possible to get everything done perfectly right now – at least, not without making everyone in the house miserable.

I might be able to get a few things done – at a leisurely pace – this afternoon.  But tonight, I’m going to book club.  The laundry will just have to wait one more day.  Hope everyone’s got enough clean underwear!

One Response to “Just Breathe…”

  1. Lisa Martin November 18, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Jen:

    You touched on the central issue of modern motherhood: vast to-do lists that sap our energy and dampen our spirits. ESPECIALLY this time of year! The laundry alone is enough to do in my mood. I’m going to take a page out of your book and chill–if only for an afternoon.

Leave a Reply

