Colic & Chiropractic

10 Nov

My heart goes out to any parent who has experienced a baby with colic.  Colic is one of those mysterious diagnoses that you hear about with relative frequency but think “that would never happen to me.”

Baby #3, it happened to me!  I experienced a completely unmedicated, natural birth the third time around.  I brought home a healthy, happy, 8-pound baby boy!  He was a joy; started smiling at the normal time, showing his dimpled cheeks!  He was a doll, and we were all in love.

At around 1 month of age, something went completely wrong.  Every single night from anywhere between 6pm and 2am, our beautiful, healthy baby would fuss and cry for no apparent reason.  He would refuse the breast, arch his back, and was unable to be consoled.  No matter what we tried, he was not happy.  And neither were we.

I talked with other mothers, from previous generations, and tried what worked for them: long drives in the car, all different kinds of swaddles, putting the bouncy seat on the drier, wrapping the baby in a warm towel, and the gentle movement of the swing.  We tried holding him all different ways.  Some nights wearing him worked.  Other nights it didn’t.  We tried over-the-counter treatments that promised positive results, but again, none of them worked.  My husband and I were exhausted.  I was starting to feel depressed.  After all, isn’t a mother supposed to know how to comfort her baby?  When I couldn’t, I felt like a terrible mother.

One day I was expressing my frustration to my cousin Molly, who happens to be a chiropractor.  She matter-of-factly told me, “He needs an adjustment.”  Now, I had never been to a chiropractor myself before, and I had a visual of a man gripping my baby, twisting his neck until it popped, and that freaked me out!  Molly reassured me, and suggested I ask around to find one who frequently works with children.

I got a referral to Lifetime Family Wellness Center from a good friend of mine, and scheduled an appointment that day.  At this point, I was desperate and would have tried just about anything!  I’m sure when Dr. Haggerton first saw me, he was looking at a raccoon-eyed, wily-haired, crazy lady who literally hadn’t slept in weeks.  He was GREAT though!  He took a lot of time to explain everything.  He had me start with a food log.

The food log indicated the baby might have an aversion to dairy.  Once I cut out the dairy, the baby was fine.  It was a miracle.  And I am forever grateful to Dr. Haggerton!  Dr. Haggerton adjusted the baby several times through the course of about two months.  He talked to me about nutrition and I added several supplements, including a probiotic.  In addition to the acupressure-like adjustments, he used a laser light beam on the baby’s belly (and also on his gums for teething).  After about 4-5 appointments, we were all doing much better and the baby was sleeping through the night!  Gone are the sleepless nights of pacing the floor with a crying, fussy baby!

To learn more about how chiropractic can help your family, Lifetime Family Wellness Center or Dr. Jim Bob Haggerton, visit his website at www.family-wellness.com.

Leave a Reply

