Three Words that Will Change Your Life

3 Nov

Part 4 from guest blogger Erika, writing about her experience undergoing IVF (in vitro fertilization)!  To see her previous blog entry, click here.

There are certain phrases that we hear that can change your life in an instant….”I love you,” “You are married,” “You are hired,” and my new favorite, “You are pregnant.”  I knew that hearing those magical words would be incredible, but I didn’t realize the intensity.

Yesterday after I almost had a complete melt down at work waiting to hear those three magical words, I finally arrived home and pulled up in the drive way.  Tim met me outside with the biggest smile on his face.  It was a smile that I have never seen before.  We’ve been together almost 8 years, so I thought I’d seen everything.  Honestly, you would have thought that the Rangers had won the World Series with the excitement that he showed.  When he walked up to me, I asked, “Are we pregnant?” and he said “Yes.”  We hugged and I, of course, cried.  It was the most amazing feeling I had ever felt.

I know I am only 4 weeks pregnant and we have 36 weeks to go and it’s not usually customary to share this “personal” news so early.  But I feel you have been on this journey with me and deserve to share in the excitement.  I only hope that my babies are growing healthy and will stay put for the full term.  The amazing Dr. K said that my HCG level is 296 which is really good.

So next steps: I have another blood test this Friday and the following one.  Then the exciting stuff starts to happen….we will have our first sonogram at 7 weeks to hear the heart beat or maybe two. 🙂

Thanks again for all your prayers and thoughts.  The man upstairs definitely heard you.

2 Responses to “Three Words that Will Change Your Life”

  1. Lori November 3, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Congratulations, Erika! That is wonderful news! I was sure you were pregnant when I saw you though because you had the glow! I’m thrilled for you and your husband!

  2. Richelle November 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    Erika, that’s fantastic!! Congratulations to you and your husband! I know y’all are just over the moon. What an exciting, wonderful time for you!

Leave a Reply

