The Story of Two Little Embryos

27 Oct

Part 3 from guest blogger Erika, writing about her experience undergoing IVF (in vitro fertilization)!  To see her previous blog entry, click here.

On Monday morning, the hubby and I went to the doctor’s office to have our two precious little embryos implanted in me.  In order for the doctor to perform this procedure, I had to drink a ton of water to have a full bladder.  Apparently this is key to the process for the doctor to ensure that the embryos are placed properly in the uterus.  Well I drank and drank…waited…peed a little..waited…drank more, then finally it was my turn!!!  The hubby and I got all dressed up in medical gear and went to into the OR.  Yes, I was nervous; not for the procedure, but about the fate of my little embryos.  The doctor told me that he couldn’t guarantee that it will 100% work, but he did say that he would take my odds to Vegas.  So, here we go.

Legs up, embryos implanted, and now I lay there almost pregnant.  It is the most exciting and scariest thing I have ever experienced.  I just hope my little ones are enjoying their safe new home and will want to stay for 9 months.

I have about week to go before I hear those three incredible words that I have been dreaming about my whole life…you-are-pregnant.  Until then, we wait.

I’ll leave you with a picture of the little ones. Isn’t it just incredible?!!!  Hopefully, this will be babies’ first picture.  Please keep praying for us.

2 Responses to “The Story of Two Little Embryos”

  1. Patrick Brendan Casey October 27, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I found this article very intriguing. And, It’s not the first, not by a long shot! I really like this page. My hat’s
    off to you and my best to Erica and family.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Words that Will Change Your Life « More than Mothers - November 3, 2010

    […] Part 4 from guest blogger Erika, writing about her experience undergoing IVF (in vitro fertilization)!  To see her previous blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

