And the Process Continues…

21 Oct

Part 2 from guest blogger Erika, writing about her experience undergoing IVF (in vitro fertilization)!  To see her previous blog entry, click here.

On Wednesday, I went to the doctor’s office to have my eggs harvested or retrieved; just in time for fall.  J/K.  The actual procedure was quick and easy, but oh man the recovery was not.  I guess I didn’t imagine too much pain, but pain is what I had.  Thank goodness for some little pills and a heating pad.  The pain has finally subdued and I’m feeling back to normal.

So the stats on the procedure: Dr. K pulled out 16 eggs, of which only 14 were “mature” eggs and capable of being fertilized.  That day, they performed the ICSI procedure where they shoved Tim’s sperm (only one) into each egg.  After one day of monitoring the embryos, 12 survived.  I will find out more information tomorrow, but overall we are WAY above average; they usually only pull out 10-12 from the start.  I’m hoping that we can have between 6 to 8 embryos to choose from for the placement on Monday.  The remaining embryos will be frozen for a later date.  That’s right…two days and I’ll have embryos in me.  We are so excited and know that it is going to take.  Gotta believe.

Another highlight to the baby-making outside the body is progesterone shots.  I had the privilege of starting last night and let me tell you how horrible that was.  My previous shots were taken in the tummy, but this one is in the bum.  My bum seriously feels like I got stung by a bee and they forgot to take the stinger out.  You ask how long this dreadful shot will be…7 weeks.  Woohoo.  So, I have 48 shots to go and counting.

Well all for now.  I’ll update after the little ones are in me and swimming and attaching to my body.

One Response to “And the Process Continues…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Story of Two Little Embryos « More than Mothers - October 27, 2010

    […] Part 3 from guest blogger Erika, writing about her experience undergoing IVF (in vitro fertilization)!  To see her previous blog entry, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

