Bedtime Stories

5 Oct

On certain difficult days, my survival depends directly on my bookshelf.  I make it through the perils of parenting or the frustrations of freelance writing by keeping an eye on the clock.  Then at 9:15, I curl up in my bed with a novel.  I willingly sacrifice precious sleep for my great nightly escape.

The books I’ve loved?  I could start with Green Eggs and Ham or Goodnight Moon and finish with Ape House by Sara Gruen (author of Water for Elephants), which I finished late last night.  Toss in The Great Gatsby and The Thirteenth Tale, and I’m hooked.

I read high-brow (Freedom), middle-brow (The Monsters of Templeton) and page-turning thrillers.  (John Sandford, your Prey novels are my guiltiest pleasure.)  Children’s books—sure.  Yeah for YA, too.  I also have a special fondness for Texas authors, from Katherine Anne Porter to Kathi Appelt.

Here are my three most recent favorites:

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows: Charming tale centering around a journalist who uncovers the true nature of the resilience on England’s Channel Islands during World War II.

Miss Mary Is Scary by Dan Gutman: My 5-year-old discovered the My Weird School Daze series this summer.  Miss Mary is the latest wacky adventure with A.J. , Andrea Young and Neil the Nude kid (my personal fave).

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins: The final chapter in the Hunger Games trilogy sees 17-year-old Katniss Everdeen and her allies battle the Capitol.  A fabulous, twist-filled end to a riveting series.

3 Responses to “Bedtime Stories”

  1. Jen October 5, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    What, no Twilight????!!

  2. Lisa Martin October 6, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    Old news! These are my top 2010 reads.

    You’ve got to read the My Weird School series with Wesley and Rosie. They’re hilarious!

    • Jen October 7, 2010 at 1:22 am #

      Thanks for the tip – I’ll have to check those out!

      I’ve been dying for a return trip to Forks, but with the new Harry Potter movie coming out in a few weeks, I might re-visit Hogwarts instead!

Leave a Reply

